Gavel in wood block
I have never had to use a lawyer in my life. But when I did, I found Michael Anzalone. WOW! He got the problem sorted and I was always able to talk to him via text or call. NOT an answer service. I would give a max rating for Michael.”
- Gary
REQUEST A FREE CONSULTATION

Highway Accident

In New Hampshire, a highway accident can be far more devastating than any other type of personal injury accident. Mainly because drivers are driving at higher speeds. Highway accidents can result in thousands (or millions) of dollars in injuries, vehicle damage and even death.

If you or loved one have been involved in a car accident, you’re very first priority should be to get medical attention immediately. The next important step will be to consult with an experienced personal injury attorney to help protect your legal rights.

What Are the Common Causes of Highway Accidents

The most common causes of a highway accident are negligent drivers who lose focus and take their eyes off the road while driving. A few more common causes of motor vehicle accidents include:

  • Road defects
  • Failed mechanics (brake failure)
  • Driving while intoxicated (DUI/DWI)
  • Driver Distractions (texting, talking, eating, etc.)

These are just a few common causes of automobile accidents, there are several more.

What Should You Do After an Automobile Accident?

When you’re involved in a highway accident, it can be frustrating, confusing and a very emotional experience. The following are steps on what to do to help protect your health and your rights.

Step 1: Never leave the scene of an accident. Make sure you stay by your vehicle. Fleeing the scene of an accident can lead to a criminal charge.

Step 2: Call 911 if there’s any damage to the vehicles or any injuries. Once a police officer has arrived and confirmed that it’s okay to leave, you may leave.

Step 3: Exchange information with the other driver. The information to exchange includes names, phone numbers, your insurance company details and license plate numbers.

Step 4: File a Motor Vehicle Accident Report (Form DSMV 400) within 15 days of the accident if damages are higher than $1,000. If another person involved in the accident was driving your vehicle at the time, he/she must also file this particular report.

Warning: It is imperative that you file this report; otherwise, you run the risk of being charged with a felony. If another individual was driving your car, and was involved in the accident, he or she is responsible for filing the accident report and not you.

Step 4: If you have been injured in an accident, it is important that you seek medical attention right away without delay. Otherwise, jurors and insurance providers may be skeptical about your injuries.

Step 5: Seek help from an experienced lawyer within 24 hours of the car accident. A good lawyer will start an immediate investigation into the situation involving your accident and help protect your rights.

Have You Been Injured in an Auto Accident?

Are looking for a New Hampshire car accident lawyer? At Anzalone Law Firm, PLLC, we understand that being involved in a highway accident can be nerve-racking. Consider calling a an attorney before signing any insurance documents. We may be able to help you gain the compensation you deserve.

For a free consultation with a New Hampshire car accident attorney, contact us or call 603.548.3797.

Contact Us For A Free Consultation
Contact Us