Car Accident Injury Insurance Claims
Automobile accidents can occur at anytime, anywhere. For example, you may be on your way home, in Nashua, Massachusetts, and the car behind you may suddenly crashed into you.
You may not know what to do or who to call. Fortunately, there is plenty of information to help you understand the settlement timeline and process for car accidents in New Hampshire.
In some situations, you need to report a car accident in New Hampshire. That is when it is a requirement to file with the Division of Motor Vehicles a Motor Vehicle Accident Report within 15 days the accident occurred.
Namely if an individual was injured or lost his or her life, and/or the vehicle accident resulted in damage of property in excess of $1,000.
There are specific car insurance laws in New Hampshire. In the Granite State, if you choose to do so, you may avoid driving with car insurance. Laws in New Hampshire do not require state motorists to be car insurance holders. However, proof of financial responsibility is a requirement in cases of administrative action, automobile accident, or a conviction.
It is required for a motorist to pay for various costs of property damage and bodily injury if the individual caused the car accident. In or state, most motorists purchase auto insurance. This is to avoid expenses that are out-of-pocket in case of a car accident.What Should You Do After a Car Accident?
As a responsible motorist, it is not lawful to leave a scene of a car accident. It is essential for you to provide necessary assistance immediately following any car accident. Leaving the scene of an accident can result in your driving privileges being revoked, or the suspension of your driver's license.
Once you stop your vehicle, it is lawful to pull up as close as possible to the accident safely, without obstruction of traffic. It’s prudent to take precautions and assess the situation; there is no need to panic. You want to be alert to the traffic situation, and any potential hazards, like fire, for instance.
Do your best to offer immediate help to other drivers, passengers or even pedestrians, which may have been hurt in the car accident. Take extra precaution when making any attempt to move someone who is injured. Wait for an ambulance to arrive, if possible. To report any injuries, call 911 for medical assistance. You should contact the local New Hampshire sheriff, police or highway patrol.
In an automobile accident, if you have been injured, it is vital to remain calm. Make sure that you are not in danger, and not obstructing oncoming car traffic. Contact the authorities or wait for assistance, and don’t make any attempt to move if you aren’t able to move at all.
In New Hampshire, if you are involved in a car accident, it is a requirement to provide specific information to any other party involved. Fellow drivers, car passengers and/or pedestrians likewise involved in the automobile accident must share information with you that’s similar.
Moreover, it is important to request the information of witnesses to the automobile accident in case you request to have witnesses testify at a subsequent date.How to Gain the Maximum Compensation Car Accident Injury Insurance Claims
Prior to seeking compensation, you should have an understanding of various types of car insurance which cover personal liability and injury. It really depends on the insurance policy, and the nature of the automobile accident.
It is a wise decision to seek legal counsel from an attorney that specializes in car crashes to review your insurance claim. At Anzalone Law Firm, PLLC, we may be able to help you gain the maximum compensation for damages and/or injuries. Contact us today at: 603.548.3797 for a no-obligation legal consultation.