Pharmacist Licensing Requirements
Pharmacist licensing requirements differ from state to state. In New Hampshire, in order for a person to become a pharmacist or pharmacy technician, he/she must first fulfill the educational requirements. Then apply to become licensed within the state he/she practices. The following details on the board of pharmacy licensing requirements include:
- MUST have FPGEC certification
- NAPLEX and/or MPJE (both are required)
- Total Number of Hours Required are 1,500 hours or an internship
- Must be at least 18 years old or older
The overall purpose of the New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy is to protect the safety and health of consumers. They ensure that pharmacies provide quality care. The board also administers guidelines.Licensing Laws & Legal Time Limits
All licensed pharmacists are required to follow strict guidelines or they could lose their license. The following are the legal time limits that the pharmacist-in-charge are required to follow.
Within 1 Business day, a licensed pharmacist that is on duty must report any missing (or stolen) controlled substances. A report must be in writing and sent to the New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy.
Within a 3 day period, an inventory must be written up of all the controlled substances within a pharmacy’s inventory.
Within a 15 day period, if a pharmacy is closing, the pharmacist must notify (in writing) the US Drug Enforcement Administration (Boston office of DEA) and the Board of Pharmacy about the closing.
Within a 15 day period, if there are any changes to your address, name or place of employment, you must contact the board in writing to update your details.
Within a 30 day period, following the expiration date on a prescription label (or stock container), the drug is considered ‘adulterated’.
Within a 30 day period, when a prescription is lost, a DEA 106 Form or a New Hampshire Drug Loss Form must be filled out by the pharmacist-in-charge. Either form must be faxed or mailed to the Board.
Within a 6 month period, controlled substance prescriptions are valid for up to 6 months from the issue date.
Every year on 12/31 all pharmacy permits will expire. All pharmacies must get them renewed before this date. Otherwise, your pharmacy permit will be considered invalid. As a result, the pharmacist will not be able to open on January 1st.
With in a 12 month period, syringe prescriptions are valid for up to the issue date. Refills are considered unlimited.
Within 1 year period, prescriptions that are non-controlled substances possessing the letters ‘PRN’ are considered valid for at least 1 year from the issue date.
With a 4 year period, all non-controlled and controlled substance prescription records of distribution and receipts and must be reserved.
Have you been severely injured due to prescription mistakes, you may be entitled to receive compensation for your injuries, medical bills and income loss. For a free - no-obligation consultation, call Anzalone Law Firm PLLC at: 603.548.3797.