The prescription drug crisis that is sweeping over New Hampshire and the rest of the United States has brought drug arrests under heightened scrutiny.
So, if you are arrested and charged with Vicodin possession, your first call should be to a criminal defense attorney who is well-versed in New Hampshire’s drug laws. That person is Michael Anzalone. And he will advise you that you should never talk to investigators without a lawyer representing you. Your legal representation will have your best interests at heart.
At The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, we are here for you and will do everything we can to help you get your life back on track after a drug arrest.What is Vicodin?
Vicodin is a combination of acetaminophen and hydrocodone, which are pain medications. In addition, Hydrocodone is an opioid, which makes it a highly addictive _ and dangerous _ drug, especially if it’s used without a doctor’s supervision. As with other such drugs, it can slow or even stop your breathing. It can also have other serious side effects.
State statute RSA 318-B covers prescription drug possession, which is part of New Hampshire’s Controlled Drug Ace.
Because of the serious nature of the drug crisis, and the media attention it has recently gotten, prosecutors, law enforcement and judges are cracking down on those arrested on drug charges.
This is a primary reason you’ll want to have an experienced attorney by your side.
If a police officer stops you while you are driving and they find Vicodin or any other drug in your possession, you can be arrested. Your lawyer will want to know whether you were the victim of an illegal search and seizure. Police officers have to follow the law and Michael Anzalone will request the police report from your arrest to make sure everything was done properly.
Keep in mind, in New Hampshire, just a small amount of drugs can result in someone being sent to prison for quite some time.
Your lawyer will tell you how serious New Hampshire has various scheduled for controlled drugs, so your lawyer will need to figure out which category your drug fits into.
And when we say that drug cases are serious, here’s the reason. Even first offenses carry a mandatory minimum fine of $350, along with a $500 fine for the second conviction and beyond.
Penalties for a first offense in Schedule I, II, III and IV carry penalties of up to seven years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. Some people convicted on a first offense can be ordered to serve time and pay hefty fines. If you are convicted a second time on the same kind of charge, the prison time jumps to up to 15 years and the fine increases to up to $50,000.
For a Schedule V drug, the fine is up to $15,000 and prison time is up to three years.
Contact The Anzalone Law Firm for a free consultation today. Our legal team is here for you 24/7.