If you get caught with Oxycodone in New Hampshire, be prepared.
You are likely to get prison time, or at the very least extensive rehabilitation, handed to you by a judge. That’s because law enforcement officials, prosecutors and judges take a serious stand on prescription drugs in light of the epidemic that’s sweeping the state and the nation.
And, you’ll need an experienced criminal defense lawyer by your side. You should call Nashua, New Hampshire, criminal defense attorney Michael Anzalone. He understands the state’s drug laws and will work to get you the best possible outcome before a judge, whether it’s rehabilitation or a lighter prison sentence.
Over the past few years, the prescription drug problem has led to tougher laws and judges are handing out harsh prison sentences and stiff fines for abusers.
You need someone who understands your side of the story. That person is Michael Anzalone.What is Oxycodone?
Oxycodone is one of the opioid drugs that have made so much news over the past few years because they are highly addictive and easy to get. Its medical use it to treat moderate to severe pain. In its extended-release form, oxycodone is used for around-the-clock treatment of pain and is not intended for treatment on an as-needed basis.
This is a drug that can slow or even _ in worst cases _ stop your breathing. It’s not intended to be used without the care of a physician. That’s what is making the prescription drug crisis so difficult to deal with.New Hampshire Drug Laws
IN New Hampshire, all drug possession charges not involving marijuana are felony offenses.
If this is your first arrest, you will have a Class B felony charge on your record and will face up to seven years in prison and fines up to $25,000.
An attorney can help you get a reduced sentence, depending on the circumstances of your case. With a suspended sentence, if you are fortunate enough to have a judge who grants you a lighter sentence, you may escape jail time with up to 5 years of probation.
But, if you get into trouble with controlled substances again, you’ll face a much more severe sentence. In this case, the charge will rise to a Class A felony conviction, which carries up to 15 years in prison and fines that could be as much as $50,000.
Again, with a strong criminal defense attorney and if the circumstances of your case allow it, you might, again, get a suspended sentence. But don’t count on it.
The state’s Controlled Drug Act is spelled out in specific detail in statute 318-B. You can read all about the laws and the penalties you could face.
Your legal team will tell you the best offense is to stay away from drugs. But if you are caught with oxycodone, be prepared to face the judge.
The best advice is to call The Anzalone Law Firm for a free consultation. Remember, we are here for you 24/7 and want to help get your life back on the right track.