Weapons & Gun Charges
Weapons offenses, especially involving firearms are not taken lightly in New Hampshire. If you have been charged with a weapons offense, it is important to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to ensure that your rights are protected. For a free consultation about your specific situation, don’t hesitate to contact the Anzalone Law Firm today at 603.548.3797.What is a Firearm?
Most people are aware of what a firearm is, but the exact definition is as follows: Any weapon, including a starter gun, which will or is designed to or may readily be converted to expel a projectile by force of gunpowder.
This definition is strictly to New Hampshire law and is not defined any further. If you have been charged with any type of crime involving a firearm, you could be facing severe consequences. The threat or use of a firearm is lightly serious offense in the state of New Hampshire. This type of threat is increasingly alarming to the victim, which allows prosecutors to push harder for more severe punishment.Felony Firearm Offenses
The use of a firearm can be defined below and found under New Hampshire’s criminal code:
- 650-A:1 Felonious Use of Firearms. - A person is guilty of a class B felony if he commits or attempts to commit any felony when armed with a pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun or any other firearm. For any subsequent offense, a person shall be guilty of a class A felony.
If charged with a class B felony, you could be facing up to 20 years in New Hampshire State Prison, fines up to $4,000, and probation. If there was actual use of a firearm, the law states you may be sentenced to a longer prison time than a regular felony charge. The use of a deadly weapon causes fear and has the potential of a possible killing.
In the state of New Hampshire, prosecution will push for stronger sentencing when a firearm is used. Do not wait or look for help elsewhere. Dealing with a criminal offense such as this is life changing and should not be done alone.It’s My Second Offense. What Now?
Now that you have been charged with the felonious use of a firearm for a second time, this charge comes bearing even harsher sentencing.
You are facing a class A felony charge which includes prison sentencing up to 20 years and fines up to $4,000. To further the sentence, the second offense of the use of a firearm adds three more years to any prison sentence on top of the felony charge you have. A second offense brings many scary and horrible changes in your life immediately. You are facing severe prison time and may never be able to own a firearm again.We Can Help
If you have been charged with the felonious use of a firearm, first or second time, call the Anzalone Law Firm today. Each team member works with their clients, finding the right rules and laws that will help protect their rights. Do not wait or think the charge is something you can handle yourself. We understand what you are facing and can help you pursue the best possible outcome for your actual case.
Copyright © Anzalone Law Firm. Manchester New Hampshire Gun Crime Attorneys and Violent Crime Lawyers.
NH Weapon Violation Lawyer Disclaimer: This website is dedicated to providing public information regarding weapons crime, criminal defense and other legal information. None of the information on this site is intended to be formal legal advice, nor the formation of a lawyer or attorney client relationship. Please contact Attorney Michael Anzalone at our law firm for information regarding your particular case. This website is not intended to solicit clients outside the State of New Hampshire.