New Hampshire is like the other 49 states in the United States when it comes to law pertaining to gun ownership. However, here in New Hampshire, the laws are somewhat less restrictive than some in some states.
If you have questions about prohibited weapons, or the restrictions in general, you should contact criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone. If you’ve been arrested on a gun charge, you will definitely want to have him by your side when your case goes to court.
Anzalone is an experience attorney who is well-versed in the state’s gun laws. And he is ready to step up to the plate to represent you. His goal is to get the best possible outcome in your case.
Whatever the charge, you can rest assured that The Anzalone Law Firm is here for you.Gun Laws
In New Hampshire, people can either carry concealed weapons or in some situations, they can carry weapons without even concealing them. And, in this state, adults don’t need a permit to openly carry weapons. Adults need a permit to carry a concealed weapon. The application process requires you to submit a form to a local law enforcement office which state’s a “proper purpose” for carrying the weapon. The reason can be for self-defense, hunting or for other allowable reasons.
What about prohibited weapons? Are there any weapons that are specifically prohibited in New Hampshire? The answer is yes. And gun laws can be covered by either state, local or federal agencies.
Some forms of prohibited weapons include brass knuckles or a slingshot. And local laws can prohibit using certain weapons within city limits or ban the use of air rifles or BB guns, for example. These last examples, of course, are on a city-by-city basis. Also a pistol cane is prohibited if it’s used to commit a violent act.
The laws exclude antique weapons such as flintlock muskets, flintlock pistols and firearms that use older types of ignition, such as matchlock, percussion caps or flintlocks.
And in New Hampshire, just like in other states, felons are prohibited from possessing weapons. The statutes outlining the gun laws can be found in RSA 159.
The penalties for possessing a prohibited can vary from fines to prison to probation and anything in between. As with any other crime, the penalty really depends on the circumstances of your case. But, in general, someone convicted in New Hampshire of a misdemeanor could face a possible fine of up to $2,000 and could be order to spend one year in jail.
If you’re convicted on a felony gun charge and have been convicted of three or more felonies in a certain category, you could be face between 10 and 40 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
This is why you’ll want to have an experienced attorney representing you on any gun charge in New Hampshire.
Please call Michael Anzalone at The Anzalone Law Firm today for a free consultation about your case. We are here for you 24/7 and our goal is to help you get your life back on track after a gun arrest.