In the state of New Hampshire, sex offenses are taken very seriously. These types of offenses are defaming to victim and offender which makes this type of crime very personal. A sex offense crime can include sexual assault, rape, child pornography (whether it be producing it or owning it), and indecent exposure. With these charges come extreme consequences that can include extended prison time, excessive fines, and life changing requirements such as registering as an offender and timely probations.What is Considered Sexual Assault?
Sexual assault can have many different degrees. Sexual assault can include sexual contact with a person under 13 years old, in between the ages of 13 and 16 where the actors age differences are 5 years or more, or if the subject is in authority over the other. If charged, you are being charged with a Class A misdemeanor which carries a possible jail sentence, fines not exceeding $2,000, and probation time. All sex crimes also require the offender to register under the New Hampshire Criminal Offenders list.What is Felonious Sexual Assault?
Felonious sexual assault consists of sexual contact and serious injury to another under any of the circumstances spelled out in New Hampshire RSA 632-A:2, or engages in sexual contact with a person between the ages of 13 and 16 where the age difference is four years or more, or if the victim is under the age of 13 years old. If charged with felonious sexual assault, you are facing Class B felony charges which include prison sentencing not exceeding seven years, fines not exceeding $4,000, probation time, and a requirement to register under the New Hampshire Criminal Offenders list.How Long is Prison Time for an Aggravated Felonious Sexual Assault?
This type of charge is the highest charge of sexual assault crimes. NH RSA 632-A:2 spells out the criteria for this type of charge. With an aggravated felonious sexual assault charge, the maximum prison sentence does increase and you can be facing prison time up to twenty years. There is a mandatory requirement to register under the New Hampshire Criminal Offenders list as well.What is Considered Indecent Exposure?
You can be charged with Indecent exposure if you expose genitals, fornicate, or create any type of vulgar circumstance that causes disrespect and alarm. This type of charge is a misdemeanor and includes expensive fines and the possible requirement of registering on the criminal offenders list. One can also be charged with this type of action by conveying or exposing genitals, fornicating, or any type of vulgar images to a person under the age of sixteen. This charge has a penalty of a Class B Felony. A felony charge is something extremely serious and requires registration on the NH Criminal Offenders list, prison time, and excessive fines. Be aware of the situation and know who you can call when a charge such as this occurs; The Anzalone Law Firm.New Hampshire's Criminal Offenders List
Because sex crimes are taken so serious in the state, the NH offenders list is also taken very seriously in regards to who has to register and for how long. Some types of charges require lifetime registration, which has a large impact on life events. Once registered, background checks will now show the charge. At the Anzalone Law Firm, we work with diligence and work hard to push for a lesser charges to allow you to continue living your life the way you always have been. Call today to make an appointment!Find the Right Defender
If you have been charged with a sex offense, contact the attorneys at The Anzalone Law Firm today before taking any steps alone. At the Anzalone Law Firm, your case is individual, private, and a concern to our team. We work with you helping you understand the process and the ways that we can help. Do not hesitate and know your rights. Call today!