Certain Persons Not to Have Weapons
Guns are always in the news. Whether it is violence or a Second Amendment argument, there are a number of opinions involving the right to possess a weapon.
In New Hampshire, and across the country, there are laws that prohibit certain people from possessing a weapon. Who is on that list? What does it mean if you are a person who isn’t allowed to have a weapon?
There are a number of people who have been prohibited from carrying weapons. They include felons, people with certain kinds of mental illnesses and in some cases, domestic abusers. There are federal laws that keep these people from carrying weapons. There are also state laws that prohibit them from possessing weapons.
Did you know that in New Hampshire it’s a crime to possess a firearm if you’ve been convicted of a felony under the state’s Controlled Drug Act? Or, it’s illegal if you’ve been convicted of many other felonies?
Other people who are prohibited from owning a gun in New Hampshire include fugitives from justice, illegal aliens, someone who was dishonorably discharged from military service, anyone who has renounced United States citizenship, and people convicted of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence, according to the New Hampshire Bar Association.
But, there are currently no laws that keep someone convicted on drug misdemeanor charges from possessing a firearm.
If you’ve been accused of illegally carrying a weapon, you should contact criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone in Nashua, New Hampshire.
In February 2017, New Hampshire became a constitutional carry state. That means you don’t have to have a license to carry weapons. In many other states you do. However concealed weapons permits are still issued so that the gun owner can have one to comply with laws in other states.What Are the Penalties Someone Can Face?
New Hampshire’s criminal code defines the use of firearms in RSA-650-A:1. It says, “A person is guilty of a class B felony if he commits or attempts to commit any felony when armed with a pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun or any other firearm. For any subsequent offense, a person shall be guilty of a class A felony.”
The penalties can be harsh.
If you are charged with a felony you could face up to 20 years in prison and you can be fined up to $4,000, along with being ordered to serve probation after your release.
Prosecutors in New Hampshire will push for stiffer penalties if a firearm is used.
The penalties increase for someone who is not supposed to have a firearm in the first place.
The best advice is not to buy a firearm if you are on the prohibited list. But that’s not always realistic. If you or a loved one is facing this kind of charge, the best scenario is to call criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone for help.
Don’t talk with authorities before you have legal representation by your side.
Call The Anzalone Law Firm today for a free consultation with our experienced legal team.