An arrest on drug possession charges can be devastating for anyone. It can wreck your life in an instant by ruining your reputation and having lingering effects in your work and personal relationships.
If you have been arrested on Ativan possession charges, you’ll need the kind of specialized advice that criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone provides.
At The Anzalone Law Firm, we are up-to-date on all of New Hampshire’s drug statutes and understand that good people mess up sometimes. Michael Anzalone will listen to you and work hard to help you get your life back in order as quickly as possible.What is Ativan?
Ativan _ or lorazepam _ is a prescription drug often given to patients who are experiencing anxiety. It affects chemicals in a person’s brain that may be unbalanced in a person who complains of anxiety issues. In addition, health officials say it can become habit-forming so those who take it have the possibility of becoming addicted to the drug. It also increases the effects of alcohol.
Prescription drug possession is covered under New Hampshire’s Controlled Drug Ace, which can be found in the state statutes at RSA 318-B.
Prosecutors, law enforcement and judges are cracking down on drug possession and if you’ve been arrested you will need to have a legal team that is well-versed in drug laws.
You can be accused of drug possession if a police officer stops you while you are driving and they find substances in your vehicle. But, of course, your lawyer will want to know whether you were the victim of an illegal search and seizure. Law enforcement officers must follow the law, which includes strict guidelines on what or who they can search.
In New Hampshire, remember, only a small amount of drugs can result in someone being sent to prison for quite some time. This is why you need a highly competent attorney representing you in court.
New Hampshire has various scheduled for controlled drugs, so your lawyer will need to figure out which category your drug fits into.
And when we say that drug cases are serious, here’s the reason. Even first offenses carry a mandatory minimum fine of $350, along with a $500 fine for the second conviction and beyond.
Penalties for a first offense in Schedule I, II, III and IV carry penalties of up to seven years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. Some people convicted on a first offense can be ordered to serve time and pay hefty fines. If you are convicted a second time on the same kind of charge, the prison time jumps to up to 15 years and the fine increases to up to $50,000.
For a Schedule V drug, the fine is up to $15,000 and prison time is up to three years.
Criminal defense attorney Michael Anzalone can help determine which schedule will affect you.
Please fill out our online form and we’ll be in contact quickly to arrange for a free consultation. We will be here for you, with the goal of getting you back on your feet as quickly as possible.