Are you facing charges of selling or dealing in drugs? If so, you need to seek the advice of criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone.
In New Hampshire, officials go after drug dealers. They don’t take kindly to people who sell drugs, especially in light of the opioid epidemic that has recently swept the state.
So, you could be facing some serious jail time if you are convicted on charges of selling or dealing in drugs.
In short, this is a charge that you should take seriously. And the first step is to make sure you have a highly qualified attorney representing you.
You should make sure that you have legal representation by your side when you talk to investigators about your case. This is very important because you don’t want to say anything that can harm your chances when your case goes to court.What are Drug Charges?
In New Hampshire, there are clear laws that outline the charges and the penalties. This can be found in the state’s Controlled Drug Act.
As you read, you’ll see how seriously the state considers drug crimes. It is a high priority to arrest and prosecute those who are selling or dealing in drugs. There are a variety of charges stemming from drug possession, intent to sell, manufacturing, cultivation, distribution and trafficking.
So if your case falls in any of these categories, you could find yourself facing a variety of penalties including prison time, fees, fines and all kinds of rehab programs.
Judges are often harsh on these crimes. So be prepared.
But, your attorney will work with you to develop a defense strategy. For example, how did your arrest occur? Was it due to an illegal search and seizure?
Michael Anzalone will look at all the evidence and talk with you and any witnesses to determine what went on. If he believes you have strong case, he will prepare you to take this case to trial. If he thinks it will be in your best interests to take a plea deal _ a lighter sentence in exchange for a guilty plea, perhaps even to lesser charges _ then he will recommend taking that path.
All of this, of course, depends on the circumstances of your individual case.What Kinds of Penalties?
In New Hampshire, the sale of less than one ounce of drugs can land you in jail for up to three years for a first offense. And, on top of that, a judge could order you to pay up to $25,000 in fines. Selling between on ounce and less than five pounds can bring a prison sentence of up to seven years and a fine of up to $100,000. And, selling more than five pounds of drugs, even in a first offense, can send you to prison for up to 20 years and the potential fines increase to up to $300,000.
As you can see, this is serious. And it’s why you’ll want to contact Michael Anzalone at 603.548.3797 for a free consultation.