Types of Drug Charges
With the prescription drug craze sweeping through New Hampshire, authorities have cracked down on people who possess or sell these drugs. In fact, the epidemic has become so serious that law enforcement officers, prosecutors and judges are taking a hard line on people suspected of possession or accused of drug crimes.
In New Hampshire, a drug arrest can bring harsh consequences, depending, of course, on the circumstances of your case. Remember, even if you’re caught with just a small amount of drugs in your possession, you could face jail time and fines. And if you are caught with a large amount of drugs, you could face much more serious trafficking charges.
In short, police officers are on the lookout for drug suspects. Prosecutors are waiting in the wings to bring charges and judges are ready to throw the book at you.
So, keep this in mind if you are in possession of drugs in New Hampshire.What Kinds of Drugs are Being Targeted?
In New Hampshire possession of almost any illegal drug can land you in jail.
Here is a look at some of the serious offenses that are listed in the state’s statutes.
- Prescription Drugs, including most of the opioid drugs
- Marijuana (over three-fourths of an ounce)
- Synthetic marijuana, or spice
- Crack cocaine
Possession charges can be brought against anyone who is found in possession of controlled substances. Recently, New Hampshire lawmakers agreed to reduce penalties for people found with small amounts of marijuana. This means that anyone caught with up to three-fourths of an ounce of marijuana or five grams of hashish will be issued a violation instead of a misdemeanor. Before the summer of 2017, New Hampshire was the only state in New England that had not yet decriminalized marijuana. Under this law, a violation comes with a $100 fine. It means that police won’t arrest someone caught with a small amount of marijuana.
If you are caught with other drugs, including cocaine, heroin and a variety of prescription drugs, you can expect harsh penalties upon conviction. For a first offense, the Class B felony comes with up to seven years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. This depends on the circumstances of your case and whether your criminal defense attorney can get a reduced sentence for you.
Anyone convicted on drug possession charges for a second time _ or more _ may be sentenced to up to 15 years in prison and be fined up to $50,000 as a Class A felony.
If you have been arrested on any drug-related charge, the best thing to do is contact Michael Anzalone at The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire. He understands the state’s drug laws and will work tirelessly to help you get the best possible outcome in court and to help you get your life back on track.
Don’t speak to anyone about your case before you reach out to the legal experts at The Anzalone Law Firm for a free consultation.