If you’ve been arrested on suspicion of Hydrocodone possession, you’ll need to contact a lawyer who is well-versed in New Hampshire’s drug laws.
Possession of any controlled substance is high on the radar of local law enforcement agencies, prosecutors and judges. So you will need a professional on your side as the case heads to court.
Call defense attorney Michael Anzalone to step up for you.WHAT HAPPENS AFTER YOUR ARREST?
In the state of New Hampshire, many drugs fall into the category of controlled dangerous substances. The Controlled Drug Act, which can be found in the state statutes under RSI 318-B:26, outlines how drug crimes are handled.
In New Hampshire, the drugs are divided into categories, called “schedules.” Many of the most dangerous drugs are listed in category 1. These are drugs that can be highly addictive and have no recognized medical value. The remaining categories list drugs that decrease in dangerousness and probability of addiction and abuse. And, drugs listed in categories II through V, increase in recognized medical use.
In short, it’s illegal to possess drugs that fall in these categories, including Hydrocodone, without a valid prescription. If you are arrested, the penalties will vary depending on what kind of drug authorities find in your possession and the type of violation you are charged with.
Hydrocodone, which is an opioid, falls into category III along with anabolic steroids, codeine and some barbiturates. Hydrocodone can slow or stop your breathing and shouldn’t be used without a prescription. It also can be habit forming.
But, no matter, you still need to have an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your team. That’s why The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, is your best choice. Michael Anzalone and his associates have your best interests at heart and will work hard to get the best possible outcome for you and help you get back on your feet again.
Just so you can understand how serious these crimes are, anyone caught possessing drugs in categories I, II, II and IV, face up to seven years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines for a first offense. If you are unfortunate enough to be arrested a second time on the same offense, the penalty increases to up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $50,000.
An arrest for a drug in category V, the least dangerous of the drugs, can result in a sentence of up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000. The severity increases to up to seven years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines for a second _ and subsequent _ arrests.
So, if you have been charged with possession of drugs that fall into these categories, please make sure you have proper legal representation.
If you or a loved one has been arrested on charges of Hydrocodone possession, please call Michael Anzalone today for a free consultation. Our goal is to assist you through the court process and help you get your life back on track.