Ecstasy is a designer drug that has made rounds over the past few years and is readily available in New Hampshire.
If you’re facing an ecstasy charge, you should call criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone for advice. First, he’ll tell you to never talk to the cops about your case if your attorney isn’t present.
With drug use running rampant in New Hampshire, judges, prosecutors and police officers take the charges very seriously. If you are arrested you could face some hefty fines and even prison time. This is why’ll you’ll want to talk over the charges with your lawyer.
You may think drug use is all fun and games. But it’s not when you are arrested and suddenly facing a judge who is sick of seeing people ruining their lives with drugs.
Ecstasy, for example, is drug often seen in college towns or in trendy bars. And that’s were police officers are searching for users and sellers. Another name for the drug is Molly. This is a street name for the drug known as ecstasy.
These drugs come in pill form, or tablets or capsules. It is a synthetic drug and can be white powder or crystals. The drug can cause muscle tension, nausea, sweating or chills and teeth clenching. In some cases people experience rapid heart rates after taking ecstasy.
If you’ve provided the ecstasy to someone else and they got sick or even died, you could Face much more serious charges.
If you are arrested, your sentence will depend heavily on the circumstances of your case. The prosecutor will consider whether you have any previous arrests as well as what kind of drug you are accused of possessing or selling.
If it’s ecstasy, you may end up facing a felony charge, which is more serious than misdemeanors. Your criminal defense lawyer may be able to reach a deal with the state for a plea, which would let you avoid prison time and pay fines. You’ll also likely be required to complete a rehab program.
If you are charged with a felony, you could face up to seven years in prison and the judge may also require you to pay a $25,000 fine. If you are arrested on another ecstasy charge, you could be facing up to 15 years in prison. And if you are accused of intent to sell, you may be hit with a fine of up to $50,000.
You’ll quickly see that New Hampshire’s drug laws are complicated, which makes it even more necessary to hire an attorney who is well-versed in the state’s criminal laws.
Judges don’t take kindly to people who use or sell drugs.
But even worse, if you are convicted on a drug charge, you’ll want to make sure you have an experienced lawyer with you every time you attend court. This charge can bring significant changes to your life and that of your family. If you are charged with a felony, you will learn that you have a felony charge on your record. You stand to lose your right to vote and the charge will show up on Google forever.
Please contact Michael Anzalone for a free consultation.