Gavel in wood block
I have never had to use a lawyer in my life. But when I did, I found Michael Anzalone. WOW! He got the problem sorted and I was always able to talk to him via text or call. NOT an answer service. I would give a max rating for Michael.”
- Gary
REQUEST A FREE CONSULTATION

Cocaine Possession

Anyone who is accused of cocaine possession in New Hampshire needs to have an attorney who is experienced in drug laws working the case.

Illegal and prescription drugs have become epidemic in New Hampshire and across the country. If you have been arrested on charges of cocaine possession, call criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone for help.

At The Anzalone Law Firm, we understand that people make bad choices sometimes and we will work with you to get the best possible outcome in court and try to set you on a better path.

But it won’t be easy.

What are the State’s Drug Laws?

In New Hampshire, law enforcement authorities, prosecutors and judges are working together on drug cases. Jail time is a real possibility if you’ve been arrested on a cocaine possession charge. In addition, you may be harming your health if you are addicted to the drug.

So, we’ll have several issues to address.

First, take a look at the state’s Controlled Drug Act, found at RSA 318-B:26. It outlines the drug policies and penalties that you may face if you are accused of cocaine possession.

Your lawyer will advise you to never talk to law enforcement officials without representation. The state has very tough drug laws and you don’t want to say something that can get you into even deeper trouble. Always understand that the state _ prosecutors and law enforcement officials _ have a team of people working to convict you. Don’t help them.

Under state law, you could be looking at a stiff prison sentence, depending on the circumstances of your case. If, for example, the state accuses you of trafficking cocaine _ five or more ounces of power cocaine or five or more grams of crack cocaine _ a judge could sentence you to up to 30 years in prison.

New Hampshire considers heroin and cocaine as controlled dangerous substances. These are considered felonies, which are serious offenses.

If you are lucky enough to have no prior drug convictions, a first-offense on a cocaine charge will be a Class B felony. That means the judge could choose to fine you up to $25,000 and order you to up to seven years in prison. This is where an experienced drug attorney comes in. He or she may be able to get you a plea deal that includes a suspended sentence and you could face up to five years of probation. But you have to stay on the right side of the law after that.

A second offense bumps you up to a Class A felony, which carries up to 15 years in prison. And, you may be fined up to $50,000. Again, an experienced attorney such as Michael Anzalone could get you a suspended sentence.

If you are caught trafficking cocaine, you may face additional penalties.

Also, a judge may order you to complete various rehabilitation programs as a part of your probation.

If you’ve been arrested on a cocaine charge, please call Michael Anzalone in Nashua, New Hampshire, at 603-548-3797. We are here for you all day, every day.

Contact Us For A Free Consultation
Contact Us