Theft by Deception
If you’ve taken something that’s not yours by using deceptive practices, you may face theft by deception charges.
In New Hampshire, this can be a serious crime and you should immediately contact The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua for legal advice. Criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone will help you sort through the facts and stay by your side as your case goes to court.What is Theft by Deception?
New Hampshire’s state statutes define theft by deception as a crime that occurs when someone gains control over someone else’s property by using deceptive practices, or trickery. The deception can include someone misrepresenting himself or herself, or by failing to correct a false impression.
It falls under the general theft category. Someone who is convicted on theft charges must have acted with the intent of depriving the rightful owner of the item. Legally, it’s referred to as “theft by unauthorized taking or transfer.”
If you are facing a theft by deception, or any other theft-related charge, in New Hampshire, please call criminal defense attorney Micheal Anzalone. His goal is to help make sure you cover all angles as you prepare to go before a judge or jury. His main goal is the get this horrible crime behind you and help you move forward in your life.What Penalties Could I Face?
In New Hampshire, the penalties for theft charges are often based on the value of the item or items that were stolen. Obviously, the higher the value of the stolen property, the harsher the penalty you will likely face.
For example, a Class A misdemeanor is the typical charge for someone accused of stealing something that is worth less than $1,000. Sometimes, this type of charge is referred to as petty theft. It is punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and up to a year in prison.
A Class B felony is the charge if the stolen property is worth between $1,000 and $1,500. This charge carries a prison term of up to seven years and a fine that doesn’t exceed $4,000. If the item you stole is worth more than $1,500, or if a firearm was used in obtaining the property, you would face a Class A felony charge. This charge comes with a fire of up to $4,000 and a prison sentence of up to 15 years.
For any of these charges you may also face civil penalties. And a court can order restitution to the victims. So you may be on the hook for a lot of money.
Any of these charges can be bumped up depending on the circumstances of your case. That’s why it is so important to talk to defense lawyer Michael Anzalone about the details of your case. He will advise you on what to expect and will make you a top priority.
So, here’s the deal. If you are facing theft charges you should contact The Anzalone Law Firm at 603.548.3797 to schedule a free consultation. We’re here for you 24/7.