Receiving Stolen Property
In New Hampshire you can face serious charges if you’re accused of receiving stolen property.
If you’ve been arrested for receiving items that you know were stolen, you’ll need to speak to an attorney who is experienced in handling theft cases. Michael Anzalone stands ready to help you put the pieces of your life back together if you are facing serious theft charges.
New Hampshire frowns upon all theft crimes and if you’ve been charged, you’ll need to be prepared to face a judge and jury. You may be wondering what the charges mean.What Does it Mean to Receive Stolen Property
The most important thing you need to know is that in New Hampshire, you must know that the items you are receiving from someone are stolen in order to be charged with such a crime. Your criminal defense lawyer will tell you it’s considered a crime even if you just believe the items may have been stolen.
According to New Hampshire’s state statutes, a person _ or dealer _ who receives stolen property is presumed to have knowledge of the crime if they’ve been caught with stolen property two or more times. Also, if they’ve been previously charged with receiving stolen property within the past year, prosecutors will presume they had knowledge of the origin of the items. A dealer in this sense is someone who is in the business of buying or selling goods.
Other things you should know about receiving stolen property. It’s also a crime if the person bought the items for a price much lower than the value or if they purchased the items from an undercover law enforcement officer working in an undercover capacity.
These are factors the state considers when charging someone of receiving stolen property.What are the Penalties?
The penalty for receiving stolen goods ranges, depending on the circumstances of each case. For example, if the value of the property is less than $1,000, you’ll likely face a Class A misdemeanor, which can carry a sentence of up to one year in jail. It’s considering a Class B felony if the value if between $1,000 and $1,500. This charge also carries a jail sentence that ranges from 3 ½ to 7 years.
It becomes a Class A felony if the value of the stolen property is over $1,500. This charge carries a sentence of 7 ½ to 15 years in prison.
These are serious charges and you should seek representation from New Hampshire criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone as soon as you’re charged with a crime.
Michael Anzalone will explain the charges in terms you can understand and he’ll work with you to determine whether it’s best to accept a plea deal from the state, or face a judge and jury. His number one priority is to help you get through this bad chapter of your life and back on track as a productive citizen.
Please call The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, for an absolutely free consultation. Our number is 603-548-3797. We are here for you 24/7.