Are you facing retail theft charges in New Hampshire?
Retail theft or any other theft charges are considered serious offenses in New Hampshire, and a conviction could wreck your life. For that reason, you should immediately contact criminal defense attorney Michael Anzalone.
At The Anzalone Law Firm, based in Nashua, New Hampshire, we’re here to help you get the best possible outcome in a theft-related case.What is Retail Theft
New Hampshire’s state statute RSA 637:10-b outlines the charges and penalties.
Someone can be arrested on a retail theft charge if they possess, use transfer, manufacture, alter, counterfeit, or reproduce a retail sales receipt or a universal product code better known as a UPC with the purpose of depriving a merchant or merchants of goods or merchandise.
In New Hampshire you can be found guilty of a Class B felony if you possess, use transfer, manufacture, alter, counterfeit or reproduce five or more retail sales receipts or UPC code labels while intending to deprive a merchant of goods or merchandise.
This is a serious charge and if you’ve been arrested you should contact a criminal defense lawyer.
This type of theft charge falls under a general theft category, which includes the following offenses: shoplifting, which is also known as willful concealment of goods, theft by deception, theft by extortion, theft of lost property, receiving stolen property, theft of services and unauthorized use of propelled vehicle or rented property.
The charges are based on a scale of what the stolen goods are worth. For example, someone who steals up to $1,000 in property, is charged with a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of no more than $2,000 and a prison sentence of up to one year. This is also called petty theft. It becomes a Class B felony if the goods are worth between $1,000 and $1,500. This carries a maximum penalty of $4,000 and up to seven years in prison. This charge, like others, can be bumped up for certain reasons, including being convicted twice on a theft charge, the property is stolen with the intent of reselling, the property is stolen from three separate places in 24-hours or the person has two convictions within 36-months, the theft is committed through extortion.
In New Hampshire, someone convicted on retail theft charges can also face civil liability penalties from the store owner. These penalties can include civil damages of up to $400, plus the stolen merchandise or its value if the products are damaged or it is no longer sellable.
The state’s statutes say the person should pay the store owner for civil damages within 60 days of the offense. The parties, of course, can enter a settlement that the two sides agree upon.
The best thing you can remember is to never steal anything. But if you do, please make sure you contact criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone.
You can call The Anzalone Law Firm at 603-548-3797 for a free consultation.