It happens every day, somewhere in New Hampshire. Someone walks into a retail store and takes something without paying for the item.
Most people refer to this as shoplifting. Legally, in New Hampshire, it’s also known as theft or willful concealment.
If you were caught shoplifting, you should immediately seek advice from a criminal defense lawyer such as Michael Anzalone. He is experienced in helping people who’ve been charged with shoplifting put this crime behind them and move on with their lives.How Serious is a Shoplifting Charge?
In New Hampshire, shoplifting or retail theft is a serious crime. This is a theft against merchants in which people take items without paying for them. This can be accomplished by sneaking the item out of the store, or by transferring the item to a container with the intention of stealing from the merchant.
It costs the companies money and in the long run, could force up the price we all pay for products. So, judges don’t look kindly on people who shoplift. Some might not understand what willful concealment means. This is when a shopper conceals merchandise while in a store.
A criminal attorney can explain the criminal codes to you so you’ll know what to expect when your case gets to court.What are the Penalties?
The penalties for shoplifting depend on the price of the items that were taken from a store.
If you’ve taken items that cost under a combined value of $1,000, you could be charged with a misdemeanor and face a fine of up to $2,000 and up to a year in jail. For items that cost between $1,000 and $1,500, you’ll face a Class B felony and could be fined up to $4,000 and get a prison sentence of up to seven years. You can also be charged with a Class B felony is you are caught shoplifting following two previous convictions on theft charges, or if you shoplifted from three separate stores within a 72-hour period.
Shoplifting is considered a Class A felony if the items have a combined value over $1,500, or if you shoplifted a firearm or used a deadly weapon during the commission of the crime. For this charge, you could be fined up to $4,000 and get a prison sentence of up to 15 years.
So, these are not charges that you’ll want to mess around with. That’s why you should make sure that defense attorney Michael Anzalone is on your team. He will work tirelessly to make sure you get the best possible outcome in your case, whether he advises you to take a plea deal or go to trial.
This is a crime that didn’t have to happen. And if you don’t take care of it in the way suggested by your attorney, you could face embarrassment, or be denied jobs, in the future.
At The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, we’re here to help you 24/7. Please give us a call at 603-548-3797 today.