If you are under the legal age of 21, the worst thing you can do is drink or take drugs and then get behind the wheel of a car. This can turn your life upside down and put your life goals on hold.
But if you do find yourself being stopped by a police officer, you’ll need to quickly get in touch with a lawyer who is knowledgeable in cases involving driving while intoxicated.
A DWI which means driving while intoxicated can be lifechanging, and not in a positive way. That’s true for anyone, but if you are under 21, it can seem even worse.
At The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, we’re here to help walk you and your family through the legal web of a drunken driving charge.The Charges
Someone under 21 who is arrested on a first DWI charge will likely face a Class B misdemeanor charge. If you are convicted on this charge you will lose your driver’s license for a period of time ranging from 12 months to 2 years, depending on the circumstances and what the judge deems appropriate for your case.
You will also more than likely be ordered into some form of drug and/or alcohol treatment. In New Hampshire, you will be required to undergo an evaluation within a specified time period. And you’ll have to adhere to a plan that is administered under the Impaired Driver Care Management Program. The judge may also require you to participate in an impaired driver education program.
If you stay clean, the judge may eventually decide to reduce your conviction from a misdemeanor, which means it will be on your driving record, to a non-criminal violation.
Your DWI attorney in New Hampshire can advise you on the ins-and-outs of the state’s underage laws pertaining to driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Michael Anzalone and his team will make your case a top priority and will advise you step-by-step as you go through the process. He understands that people make bad decisions sometimes and he will help you get the best possible outcome so you can continue with your life’s plans.What Should I Know About DWI?
Many people typically think a DWI charges happen to people who drive drunk. But, you need to understand that a DWI or DUI charge can also apply to someone who is under the influence of drugs. This is a wide-ranging charge. Being under the influence of drugs includes not only illegal drugs, but prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs and any other chemical substance.
So, if you take medication of any kind, you should wait to see how it affects you before getting behind the wheel.
For someone under the age of 21, the legal limit to drive is much lower than it is for those over 21. If you are under 21, you are considered to intoxicated to drive or operate any motor vehicle in New Hampshire if your blood alcohol content (or BAC) is over 0.02 percent. For those over 21, the legal limit for driving is 0.08 percent. That’s quite a difference and you need to understand this.
If you have any questions about underage DWI, please get in touch with DUI lawyer Michael Anzalone. You can fill out an online form on the Anzalone Law Firm’s website, or call Michael and his team at 603.548.3797.