Driving while under the influence is a serious infraction in New Hampshire and if you’ve been arrested the first thing you should do is seek advice from a lawyer who is knowledgeable in the state’s driving laws.
You may feel like the worst person on Earth, but Michael Anzalone understands that sometimes bad things happen and he’ll have your back as your case heads to court.
At The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, we pride ourselves on helping clients. We make sure you understand the potential punishment you face, as well as prepare you to go in front of a judge or jury to try your case.
The arrest may have come out of the blue. Often, police officers spot motorists leaving popular bars or restaurants that serve alcohol. If you appear to be driving recklessly, or ride up on a curb or cross a center line, they have the grounds to pull you over. You will likely be asked to perform field sobriety tests, which may be as simple as being asked to walk a straight line along the roadway where you’ve been stopped. Or you may be requested to undergo a breath test to determine your blood alcohol content.
This is where the situation gets real.
In New Hampshire, a DUI/DWI attorney can tell you that you’ll be arrested if your BAC is 0.08 or higher. It’s even lower if you are under the legal age of 21. You are considered too intoxicated to drive if your BAC is 0.02 or higher.What Penalties Could I Face?
If your case goes to court you could be facing stiff penalties. Michael Anzalone and his team of associates will prepare you for this outcome by going over every detail of your case with you.
New Hampshire lays out the law very clearly in the state statutes. You can read them here: "Chapter 265-A: Alcohol or Drug Impairment" to get a better understanding of what you’re facing.
The bottom line is this. Whether it’s your first offense or you’ve been arrested on DWI/DUI charges multiple times, you need to seek the advice of a lawyer who specializes in driving laws in New Hampshire.
A first offender found guilty of a Class B misdemeanor DWI/DUI offense will be fined a minimum of $500. You will also be asked by the judge to submit to an alcohol and abuse screening within 14 days of your conviction and you may have to submit to treatment as a substance abuser. You’ll also have to take part in an impaired driver education program.
Will your driver’s license be suspended? For a first offense, it’s likely you’ll lose driving privileges for at least 6 months.
If you’ve been found guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, you’ll be subject to all of the above with a higher fine minimum of $750 and will likely serve time in jail. You’ll also lose your driver’s license for a period of at least two years.
The penalties rise as the charges increase. A Class B felony, for example, results in all of the previous penalties plus a fine of at least $1,000. You may be asked to provide random blood testing and you’ll have to complete the impaired driver education programs.
If you’ve been arrested on charges of driving while under the influence, you will need the help of Micahel Anzalone. Call our offices at 603-548-3796 in Nashua, New Hampshire, to request a free consultation today. Or, you can fill out the form on our website.