Anytime you are arrested on a drunken driving charge it can completely turn your life upside down. But if you are ever involved in a DWI/DUI case in which someone dies, you will be facing serious penalties.
In New Hampshire, law enforcement officers and prosecutors take a hardline stance on drunk driving, or driving while under the influence of any kind of substance, including drugs or alcohol.
Attorney Michael Anzalone understands the DWI/DUI laws and will be your strongest advocate. Before you head to court, make sure you call The Anzalone Law Firm to talk to Michael Anzalone about your situation.What is DWI/DUI Manslaughter?
If someone dies during a crash caused by a motorist who is found to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the driver can be charged with DUI or DWI manslaughter.
In New Hampshire, this is a serious charge and it is not something you should take lightly if you find yourself facing this charge. You need a DWI lawyer to help you make the right decisions before your case goes before a judge or jury.
What does the law say? State statutes say a negligent homicide charge is punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine of no more than $4,000. Remember, the ultimate decision is made based upon the circumstances of each case.
Again, this is why you need to have a DWI attorney guiding you through the process. Depending on the circumstances, your lawyer may encourage you to make a plea agreement with prosecutors that would help you get what he or she feels is the best possible deal. You can trust lawyer Michael Anzalone and his team of associates to assist you.What Happens if You are Arrested?
It’s always scary when you are stopped by police or involved in a crash. But when you add alcohol or drugs in the mix, things can quickly escalate. And if someone dies in the process, you will be arrested.
An officer will immediately ask you to step from your car, if you haven’t been injured in the crash and you’ll probably be asked to do a series of field sobriety tests right there on the roadway. These can be a combination of exercises which will let the officer determine whether you are under the influence of any substance.
Along with the field sobriety testing, you’ll also be ordered to take a breath test, or in some cases, a blood test, which will let authorities know how intoxicated you are. These are also considered BAC tests.
In New Hampshire, anyone who blows a 0.08 percent or higher is considered too intoxicated to drive. If, however, you are under 21, the threshold is much lower – at 0.02 percent.
New Hampshire is an implied consent state, which means you agreed to consent to testing when you were given a driver’s license. So, if you refuse a BAC test, you’ll face suspension of your driver’s license. There is a sliding scale that is based on whether this is your first offense or not.Your DWI Lawyer can Help Explain this Process to You
An attorney who is well-versed in driving offenses is your best bet for getting the best outcome in your case. Call Michael Anzalone today at 603-548-3797 for a free consultation.