Anyone who is convicted of felony DWI/DUI in New Hampshire will likely face jail time.
The state considers driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs a serious offense and judges and prosecutors go after anyone who has been arrested on these charges.
That’s why you need to call DWI lawyer Michael Anzalone if you are facing a felony drunken driving charges in New Hampshire. Don’t wait because time your rights may be at stake if you wait too long to seek legal advice.What is a Felony DWI/DUI?
A DWI/DUI offense typically becomes a Class B felony in New Hampshire if you cause an accident in which someone is seriously injured. The charge is Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated.
A first-time offender faces time in jail that ranges between 21 days and 7 years. State law requires that at least the first 14 days of the sentence be served in jail. The judge has leeway here, basing your sentence on the circumstances, which includes your past driving record, the extent of the injuries suffered in the crash and your blood alcohol content. The remainder of your sentence could be served in a multiple offender program, which is commonly called an MOP.
You will also lose your driving privileges for anywhere between 18 months to 2 years. You’ll also have to attend and complete an impaired driver program which is approved by the state. And a judge may order you to complete a drug or alcohol treatment program.
A felony conviction can be both embarrassing and expensive. The fine for a Class B felony in New Hampshire ranges between $1,000 and $4,000. You also may have to pay for the intervention programs, which can come with a hefty price tag.
Once your driver’s license suspension is lifted, you’ll likely be ordered to install an ignition interlock device that you’ll have to use for a period of time between 12 months to 2 years. The devices will have to be installed, at your cost, on any vehicle you drive to ensure that you aren’t drinking and driving again. The device requires you to blow into the device, which measures your blood alcohol. Anything over 0.08 percent is over the legal limit to drive in New Hampshire.
Even worse, you’ll have a criminal record, which can affect you for years to come. Not only will your car insurance premiums be higher, in the future, potential employers and landlords will see your criminal records when you apply for a job or a new place to live.
You can read the state’s Title XXI Motor Vehicles laws to become familiar with DWI penalties.
Remember, if you don’t list your criminal record on an application, you could risk a perjury charge.
For all these reasons, you should immediately contact attorney Michael Anzalone, who is a DWI specialist. He can offer the kind of legal advice that will save you both time and money and get you back on track after the trauma of a felony arrest.
You can call 603-548-3797 for a free consultation.