If you have been accused of driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you need an experienced DUI attorney who can help you through the legal process.
Michael Anzalone is the kind of attorney who will fight for your rights and help you get the best possible outcome.
Once you hire your lawyer, the work begins. You and your legal team will have to figure out how to defend your case.
Typically in a drunken driving case, the evidence is strong. Law enforcement officers in New Hampshire and across the country are on top of their game in terms of arrested suspected drunken or drug impaired drivers.
And prosecutors take these cases extremely seriously. Judges do too. They often throw the book at those convicted of DUI, especially repeat offenders.
So, where do you begin? You will work with our team at The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, to devise an aggressive defense. Or, if DUI lawyer Michael Anzalone doesn’t feel you have a strong enough case, he will recommend making a deal with prosecutors to have you plead guilty, usually to a lesser charge for a reduced or suspended sentence.
You may have been charged with either Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol (or drugs). The charges can be either DWI or DUI, depending on the jurisdiction.
From the beginning you will need to understand that you could face jail time. It could be anywhere from 10 to 180 days. Of course, this all depends on the circumstances of your crime.
If possible, Michael Anzalone will try to get your charges reduced to a misdemeanor, which carries less severe penalties. For example, if you are charged with a Class B misdemeanor, you could lose your driving privileges for between 9 months and 2 years. A Class A misdemeanor would bring a license suspension of between 18 months and 2 years. If it’s a second offense, the suspension goes up to 3 years of more.
Your attorney will work with you to determine the facts of the case and try to find out whether the police officers followed protocol while arresting you. If not, you may have grounds for a strong defense case.
Also you should understand that you could be sentenced to a remedial program, which can be time consuming. This will also be at your own expense, so it can be very costly. According to state laws, you may be responsible for paying up to $5,000 for this kind of program.
If you have never been in any trouble, this can be quite a shock to your system. And simply from being charged with DUI, you may lose your job, which can make your life even worse. This charge will bring a lot of stress and it can also cause you to be away from your family for a great deal of time as you go hearings and participate in rehab programs.
Please go online today and schedule a free consultation with Michael Anzalone.