An arrest and conviction on DUI or DWI charges can be devastating. But if the case involves an injury, it can be even worse.
If you’ve been arrested on charges of driving while intoxicated, you should retain the services of DWI attorney Michael Anzalone.
You’ll want to call a lawyer as soon as possible after an arrest and you’ll need to understand that it’s not in your best interest to talk to authorities before your attorney is by your side. That’s because anything you say may be used against you by prosecutors when presenting their case.
You’ll already likely have been ordered by police officers to perform a series of field sobriety tests, which lets them assess your level of intoxication. This also includes a breath test, which you may or may not have refused to participate in.What Happens After a DUI?
Law enforcement officers are serious in their pursuit of drunken drivers. And if someone was injured due to you DWI or DUI incident, you’ll probably face felony charges. That could happen, according to the state’s statutes, even if you are the only person injured in the crash.
The terms DWI and DUI are interchangeable in New Hampshire and they cover all kinds of intoxication while driving. State law, found at RSA 265-A says that someone who is accused of drunk driving can be charged with DWI (or DUI), Aggravated DWI, Felony Aggravated DWI and DWI. If you are convicted on subsequent DWIs, it can become a felony offense.
A first arrest on a DWI charge is a misdemeanor. This doesn’t carry the possibility of a jail sentence. But all other DWI and DUI charges carry potential jail time. Every DUI offense carryiest the potential loss of driver’s license and fines and fees.
If you are age 21 or older, the legal limit to drive in New Hampshire is 0.08 percent. If you take a breathalyzer that shows your blood-alcohol content level to be higher than that amount, you’ll face DUI charges. For someone under age 21, the legal limit is only 0.02 percent.
Fines range from a few hundred dollars to the thousands of dollars. This is a serious crime in New Hampshire and you need to understand that there are many consequences, many of which don’t involve legal aspects of the charge. A conviction on DWI can be embarrassing to both you and your family, especially if there’s an injury involved.
And you may lose your job because of the conviction or just because you can no longer drive to and from your workplace due to losing your driving privilege. With a DUI charge, you face having your driver’s license revoked for as little as 9 months to two or more years. As stated earlier, much depends on the circumstances of your case.
This is why you’ll want a DUI defense lawyer such as Michael Anzalone representing you in court. He understands the state’s driving laws and will make the recommendations that can help you get your life back on track as quickly as possible.
For a free consultation, please call The Anzalone Law Firm today.