Drivers License Suspension
Ever had your driver’s license suspended? It’s a long process trying to get it back and most of the time it involves secondary issues that require you to have an attorney help you.
If you are in this position, the first thing you should do is call attorney Michael Anzalone. He can help you get back on your feet, regardless of the situation.
The most typical situation for a license suspension involves a drunken driving arrest. A DWI or DUI can be a devastating event, even if there are no injuries in the crash. Having a DWI can alter your life _ and that of your family _ for a long time.
If you are arrested on a DWI charge, you should contact a DWI or DUI lawyer immediately. In fact, Michael Anzalone recommends that you should never speak with law enforcement authorities about your case without having a legal representative by your side. The reason is simple. You may say _ or do _ something that could harm your case moving forward. They will use anything you say against you. Your lawyer will let you know what you should say _ or keep to yourself.
Once you’ve talked to your attorney, you can move forward on getting your life back in order.
Depending on the circumstances of your case, Michael Anzalone may suggest that you plead guilty to lesser charges in order to get a suspended _ or lighter _ sentence. This may help you avoid jail time if that is an option.
With a DWI case, a judge will probably order you to some form of substance abuse counseling or rehabilitation. You would have to complete all of the judge’s orders for your license to be reinstated.
This can take time and cost a lot of money in fees and fines.
Getting your driving privileges restored required completion of the substance abuse program. As your attorney will tell you, you also have to have an insurance form _ called an SR-22 _ which basically says that the insurance company insures your privilege to drive.
According to state statute RSA 265:A, you’ll be granted a probationary license for five years. In New Hampshire, a probationary driver can’t drive with blood alcohol of 0.03 percent or more. And if you are under 21 years of age, the troubles are even worse.
A judge may require you to have your blood alcohol checked regularly, depending on the circumstances.
Your attorney can help you through this process. At The Anzalone Law Firm, our legal associates will work diligently to try to get your record expunged and regain your driving privileges as soon as possible. But you will have to work with us to get this done.
You will have to be careful not to drink and drive and make sure you attend all meetings and appointments along the way. If you miss, the judge could throw the book at you.
The best advice is to call our office in Nashua, New Hampshire for a free consultation with Michael Anzalone.