DWI Breath Tests
A Breathalyzer test is common after police stop a suspected drunk driver. The test lets the officer know one thing just how intoxicated the person is.
In New Hampshire, judges and prosecutors take intoxicated driving seriously. Judges often give stiff sentences to people convicted of driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
So if you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer, don’t take it lightly. That’s why you’ll want a DWI lawyer such as Michael Anzalone representing you. Call him at The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, as soon as possible after your arrest.What Happens When You’re Stopped for Drunk Driving?
The officer who suspects you of driving while intoxicated will likely ask you to step out of your vehicle. He or she will also ask you to perform some field sobriety tests on the side of the road. The officer will probably film you taking these tests, which can be used as evidence if your case goes before judge.
At this point, the officer may request you to do a breath test. The breath test simply put measures the concentration of alcohol in your system. This is a preliminary test that is usually done on a portable device which can be carried in officers’ squad cars.
Your attorney may have a negative opinion of the breath test because it’s not known as entirely accurate. In fact, you may score one number at the scene and another number that’s way off when you go to the police station and take a second breath test. That that discrepancy can still be considered way off base even taking into account the amount of time that passed between the first and second tests.
You have the right to refuse to take a breath test even though New Hampshire is an implied consent state meaning that when you were issued your driver’s license, you consented to certain things including taking a test to measure your blood alcohol content.
DWI attorney Michael Anzalone would probably prefer that you politely refuse to take the breath test, especially if you recently had a drink. At the police station, you’ll probably be read your rights concerning taking the test. Know going in that you will probably lose your driving privileges for a time for refusing a breath or blood test. But if you take the test and you blow a 0.08 percent or higher (or a 0.02 percent or higher if you are under the age of 21), you will lose your driver’s license anyway.
There are many discrepancies about the breath tests. How old is the machine, is it hooked up properly, does the officer know how to administer the test. These are factors you should consider.
No matter what decision you come to, contact Michael Anzalone as soon as possible so he can represent you as your case proceeds through the court system.
Call The Anzalone Law Firm today at 603.548.3797.