When you have been arrested on a DWI/DUI charge, it’s sometimes hard to know what to do first. This may be the very first time you’ve been in trouble. And now, you’re facing serious charges.
The first thing you need to do after your arrest is to contact a DWI lawyer. That’s where Michael Anzalone comes in. Michael and his associates at The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, are ready to help you from the day you get arrested.
In New Hampshire, prosecutors take driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol seriously. And you should too.What Should I Expect?
After your arrest, you’ll be given a form that will act as your temporary New Hampshire driver’s license. This temporary license will be good for 30 days after your arrest and will allow you to drive. At the end of 30 days, the Division of Motor Vehicles will suspend your driver’s license. But, state law gives you the opportunity to request a hearing to contest your driver’s license suspension.
Michael Anzalone will advise you on this process. He will be available to you throughout this process.
At the hearing, you’ll go before an administrative judge who will hear your case. Your DWI attorney will be with you. You can also expect the police officer who arrested you to testify as well as any other witness to your arrest.
The police officer will tell the judge the state’s version of the story. He’ll let the judge know what you were doing that led him to believe you were driving while intoxicated. At this time, the officer will also say whether you took any field sobriety tests.
You will all be under oath during the hearing. Your lawyer will advise you on whether you should testify. For some people, it is in their best interest to testify. Other times, a lawyer will say it’s not such a good idea.
The purpose of this hearing is to determine whether your driver’s license will be suspended or re-instated.
This is a first-step of the legal process. Remember, it is never a good idea to go before a judge without the proper representation.
Later, a judge, or possibly a jury, will determine your fate based on the facts of the case. If you are eventually convicted, the judge may send you to jail for a certain amount of time, based on the circumstances of your case.
You’ll more than likely have to attend some kind of impaired driver education program, as well as a drug or alcohol rehabilitation program. The judge will require you to complete each of these programs before your driver’s license is reinstated.
The best advice is to never get behind the wheel of a vehicle if you are under the influence of alcohol. But if you do, remember you’ll need legal advice to help you get back on track. Again, you’ll want to consult with DWI/DUI lawyer Michael Anzalone as soon as you’ve been arrested on a DUI charge. His phone number is 603-548-3797. Call today for a free consultation.