Blood Alcohol Content
It happens in a flash. A driver gets pulled over by a police officer for suspicion of impaired driving. The driver is asked to do a series of field sobriety tests and a blood alcohol content or BAC test may be administered.
But in New Hampshire, like many other states, drivers with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 are considered legally drunk. Anything over that gives prosecutors a reason to pile on more serious charges.
If you are facing a DUI/DWI in New Hampshire, you’ll need to get the legal advice from a DUI lawyer who understands the state’s drunken driving laws and who will make your case a priority.
In New Hampshire, a first time DUI/DWI offense is a Class B misdemeanor. But that doesn’t mean you don’t need the help of an experienced DUI lawyer. Call Michael Anzalone at The Anzalone Law Firm for a consultation.
Whether you’ve been stopped on suspicion of drunk driving or during a DUI/DWI checkpoint, the judicial process will begin. An officer will likely ask the driver to perform any variety of field sobriety tests at the scene of the arrest. This is done to test a suspected impaired driver’s coordination and involuntary reactions. The officer may also request a BAC test. This is sometimes called a breath test. The results will show how much alcohol the suspect has consumed.
Any person whose BAC test comes back with a 0.08 or higher will likely be taken to the police station for another blood alcohol test and, in all probability, an arrest. Under New Hampshire statutes, a person is deemed too intoxicated to drive if the BAC registers 0.08 or higher. For someone under 21, the percentage drops to 0.02.
You can read more about the state statute (Chapter 265-A Alcohol or Drug Impairment) here.
The BAC numbers are key factors for prosecutors. The higher the number, the more serious the charges they can pursue. This is the reason you need to have a highly qualified attorney representing you as your case goes through the court system. New Hampshire DUI attorney Michael Anzalone will work to get the best possible outcome for you. A DWI/DUI can have long-lasting implications for you and your entire family. So, before you talk to police investigators, make sure you have a lawyer who specializes in drunken driving cases by your side.
A first offender will be given a fine not exceeding $500 and a referral to an Impaired Drive Care Management Program, which is also called an IDCMP. The judge can also require you to complete an impaired driver education program. And, on top of fines, you will most likely have to foot the bill for these classes. Studies have shown that a DUI/DWI arrest can end up costing a driver between $9,000 and $24,000, depending on the circumstances. In addition, with a conviction on drunken driving, you can expect your insurance costs to rise significantly.
A drunken driving arrest can end up costing you a lot of time and money. It’s time you’ll have to spend away from your job and family to meet the requirements of the judge’s order. And, in most cases, your right to drive will be severely restricted for a time.
This is why it’s essential to call DWI lawyer Michael Anzalone today for a free consultation. Michael and his staff at The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, are ready to help you. Call us at 603-548-3797.