Credit Card Fraud
Facing a credit card fraud charge than throw your life into disarray. If you’ve been accused of credit card fraud, you’ll need the assistance of a highly qualified criminal defense attorney.
In New Hampshire, Michael Anzalone is that lawyer. He’s had years of experience defending a range of white color and blue collar crime. And he will work to get you the best possible outcome.
With a credit card fraud charge, you will need a criminal defense attorney who is well-versed in both state and federal laws and the judicial system.
Michael Anzalone will advise you that it’s best to never speak with police officers or detectives about your case before you have a lawyer sitting beside you. The reason is simple. Anything you say can harm your case. You can be sure you’re your best interests will the top priority for our law firm.What is Credit Card Fraud?
Your case could be tried under federal or state laws, depending on the circumstances.
Anyone who intentionally uses credit cards commits fraud. This includes the international usage of an access device to close a transaction or obtain something valued at $1,000 or more within one year. This also applies to interstate cases, meaning it involves two or more states.
State laws apply in all other situations.
It is explained in the state’s criminal code at RSA 638.
This says that anyone who tries to pass himself or herself off as someone else in any kind of transaction using “altered writing” commits either fraud or forgery. The laws in New Hampshire don’t really distinguish between fraud and forgery. So the same penalties apply in both cases.
This means that “altered writing” can apply in either bad check or credit card fraud cases.
The law describes credit card fraud as anyone who uses a credit card to receive payments or any other benefits with the knowledge that it doesn’t belong to you, or if it was stolen or even it was cancelled or revoked and you continue to use it.
The penalties can be severe. If you used the credit card to obtain something valued at more than $1,500, the state considers it a Class A felony. Otherwise, it’s considered a Class A misdemeanor.
The maximum sentence for a felony is up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $4,000. For a misdemeanor, you could be ordered to prison for one year with a fine of up to $2,000. This all depends on the circumstances involved in your case
Whether your case goes before a judge or your attorney thinks it is best to make some kind of plea arrangement beforehand, it is our goal to help you get back on your feet as soon as possible.
An arrest can wreck your life. After an arrest, your reputation could be tarnished, you could lose your job and your family might be very embarrassed.
You need the assistance of The Anzalone Law Firm to get you out of what could be a messy legal web.
Please contact us using this online form to receive a free consultation with Michael Anzalone. Our legal team is here for you 24/7.