If authorities have accused you of blackmailing someone, you could be facing prison time if found guilty.
The best advice is to call a criminal defense lawyer for help in either settling this matter or getting the best possible outcome. In Nashua, New Hampshire, attorney Michael Anzalone can help you fight these allegations.What is Blackmail?
Blackmail, which can also be called extortion, falls under theft crimes in New Hampshire’s statutes, RSA 637:1. In simple terms, blackmail involved a threat to expose certain things such as embarrassing or damaging information about someone. In the typical case of blackmail there is a threat to “expose” these details about a person publically unless the person gives them money.
Another common form of blackmail involves businesses. In this kind of white collar scheme, someone offers protection for the business in exchange for money. The business owner complies, often giving weekly or monthly payments for this “service” while fearing that the blackmailer will harm him otherwise.
Authorities say there are a number of ways that people can blackmail someone. The threats can come either in person, online, in an email, via text message or wireless communication. If interstate commerce is used in any kind of blackmail, the case bumps up to the federal level.
Criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone will advise you to never try to blackmail anyone. But if you’re accused of this crime, please call him. Anzalone and his associates at The Anzalone Law Firm will make your case a priority and will seek to get you back on your feet as soon as possible.
This is a serious crime and be aware that law enforcement officials, prosecutors and judges don’t take blackmail charges lightly. Depending on the circumstances involved in your case, you could be facing some jail time and/or fines and other penalties.
At the very least, this can be a life-changing event and you may end up with a felony record, which could impact you, your family and your lifestyle for years to come.
Under New Hampshire law, blackmail is considered a Class A felony if the value of the property or services exceeds $1,500 or if a firearm is stolen or the person doing the blackmail is armed with a firearm or other deadly weapon.
It is a Class B felony if the value of the property falls between $1,000 and $1,500, or if the person doing the blackmail has been convicted twice of theft of property or services as a felony or a Class A misdemeanor. There are several other exceptions that fall under state law, such as if property or services are stolen from three separate businesses within a 72-hour period.
A case is considered a misdemeanor if the property or services doesn’t exceed $1,000.
If you are facing these kinds of charges, you need to have the immediate services of an attorney who is well-versed in New Hampshire’s theft laws.
Please call Michael Anzalone at 603-548-3797 to set up a free consultation. At The Anzalone Law Firm, we are here for you 24/7.