Simple assault is the lowest form of an assault charge in New Hampshire. But it’s very easy to be charged with simple assault because it is any contact that is unprivileged or unwanted. Unprivileged contact can include anything from a touch to slapping, or even a poke.
Even so, this type of charge could bring severe penalties that could affect your personal life. For that reason, it’s necessary to find an experienced law team that cares and is ready to defend your assault charge. Call Michael Anzalone at the Anzalone Law Firm today at 603.548.3797.
You must keep in mind that ANY contact that is unprivileged can be a form of simple assault. In this type of charge any contact, no matter how minor, that is given without permission is charged as simple assault.New Hampshire Simple Assault Law
Simple assault can be specifically defined in New Hampshire’s criminal code under the following statute:631:2-a Simple Assault
- A person is guilty of simple assault if he:
- Purposely or knowingly causes bodily injury or unprivileged physical contact to another; or
- Recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
- Negligently causes bodily injury to another by means of a deadly weapon.
- Simple assault is a misdemeanor unless committed in a fight entered into by mutual consent, in which case it is a violation.
Regardless of how minor the contact, the charge of simple assault is a serious matter that shouldn’t be taken lightly. In the state of New Hampshire, simple assault is a misdemeanor of class A or B. If you are convicted of a class "A" misdemeanor, you could face a sentence of 12 months in jail and as much as a $2,000 fine. In a class "B" misdemeanor, you can be fined up to $1,200. Because this type of assault is common, easily received, and faces harsh punishment, you must be aware of your legal rights.Finding the Right Attorney
Even if little contact was made in a simple assault charge, you must understand that prosecution will not tread lightly. The state may seek full charges, including jail time, even in a first offense. Do not make any decisions, comments, or deals with authorities until you talk to a defense lawyer who is both knowledgeable and committed.
Taking action without the help from an attorney could lead to more severe penalties, larger fines, or jail time. With the help from our committed team at the Anzalone Law Firm, we can take the steps necessary to protect you as a defendant.Call Anzalone Law Firm Today
If you have been charged with an assault crime in Manchester, call Michael Anzalone at the Anzalone Law Firm. You can also fill out an online contact form. With care and perseverance, our law firm will work diligently to protect your rights as well as provide competent and ethical legal advice. We work with our clients, finding the most effective strategies to allow you to move on with your life and have the charges a thing of the past.