Have you been accused of assaulting someone in New Hampshire? This is a serious charge that can lead to some serious consequences.
If you have been arrested, you need to make sure you hire an aggressive criminal defense lawyer who has represented multiple people in your shoes. Michael Anzalone of The Anzalone Law Firm is the best person for this job.
Michael Anzalone knows the ins and outs of the legal system and his goal is to get you the very best possible outcome when your case goes before a judge.What is Considered Assault?
In New Hampshire, the criminal code lays out what exactly lawmakers consider to be an assault. Any time you touch another person without his or her permission, this could be under the laws of the state an assault. Some cases are considered simple assault, while others are much more serious, including aggravated assault or assault and battery charges.
As with almost any other crime, it all depends on the circumstances of your case. If you are charged with a felony assault, you probably were accused of a crime that involved a weapon or some kind of serious injury. These are the most serious of the assault cases.
Or, in some cases, you could be charged with sexual assault. This, too, is an incredibly serious charge and you could face some life-changing consequences. This kind of assault typically involves the touching of another person’s breasts or genitals without their permission to do so.
Another kind of assault is vehicular assault, which may sound weird but you could have injured someone with your vehicle and be charged with an assault.
If you are charged with simple assault, that is typically a less serious offense.
We’ll start there. A simple assault is usually a misdemeanor and as such can be classified into either a Class A or Class B misdemeanor.
With a Class A misdemeanor, a judge could order you into jail for up to 1 year if you are convicted. It also can carries a fine of up to $2,000. A Class B misdemeanor carries a fine of up to $1,200.
If you are charged with a felony assault, then you could be facing even more serious charges. For example, a Class B felony could land you in prison for up to seven years and you could be fined up to $4,000.
The most serious of these offenses, a Class A felony, could bring a prison sentence of up to 15 years and a fine of up to $4,000.
The charges are outlined in the state’s criminal code found at RSA 631.
As you can see, these are harsh penalties, even for misdemeanors. And if you’ve never been in trouble before this can be a huge problem for you. You could take quite a hit to your reputation and this kind of charge can greatly embarrass your family and friends.
A judge could also suggest anger management classes for you.
The best thing you can do is to make sure you call criminal defense attorney Michael Anzalone for a free consultation, so we can get started on your case right away.