Some of the most serious charges anyone can face in New Hampshire are for murder or attempted murder or manslaughter.
If you have been arrested on any of these charges, the first thing you need to do is to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer. The best bet anywhere in New Hampshire is Michael Anzalone.
He will work tirelessly to get the best possible outcome for you in any case involving murder or attempted murder.
These are often crimes that get a lot of media attention. Any time someone is murdered, it makes headlines. So, if you’ve been arrested, the odds are there is already a news story about your arrest on a newspaper or television website. And TV news loves to lead their broadcasts with stories about crime, especially murder.
This is another reason that you need a seasoned professional representing you, especially right after your arrest. That’s when police investigators will be trying to interrogate you, attempting to get as much information from you as possible. And they will use everything you say against you when the case goes before a judge and jury.
So, as a criminal defense attorney, Michael Anzalone recommends that you never speak to law enforcement without legal representation.
One thing you should know up front is that the state’s Attorney General’s Office will prosecute any murder case. And in most cases, these types of cases are investigated by the State Police’s major crime unit.
If you have been accused of murder, you could face a number of types of charges. These include first-degree murder, second-degree murder and manslaughter which could also be called negligent homicide. A conviction on any of these charges could land you in prison for many, many years.
This is why you will want to make sure you have a highly-qualified criminal defense lawyer. And you’ll especially want to know that he or she has represented clients facing the maximum penalty, which is capital murder. If you are convicted on a capital murder charge, you could face the death penalty.
The penalties for murder charges can be found in the New Hampshire state statutes at RSA 630:1.
The breakdown is pretty simple. If someone purposefully causes the death of someone, or does so while committing another act such as rape, armed robbery or arson, they can be charged with first-degree murder. The penalty is life in prison with no chance of parole.
A second-degree murder charges occur when someone causes a death through recklessness and indifference to human life. This, too, can carry a life sentence, or the judge can reduce that.
A manslaughter charge carries a sentence of up to 30 years in prison while a negligent homicide conviction can result in prison time of between 7 and 15 years in jail.
Every case is different and the penalties are determined based of the circumstances of your case. If you have been accused of murder, you need legal help.
Contact us at 603.548.3797 for a free consultation with Michael Anzalone. At The Anzalone Law Firm, we are here for you 24/7.