Did the police accuse you of aggravated assault or battery? If so, you’ll need to seek the advice of a criminal defense attorney.
In New Hampshire, aggravated assault is a felony and an aggravated assault charge results from causing serious injury to someone.
The aggravated assault charge can go in several directions. You’ll want to consult with New Hampshire criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone to find out if you can get your charges reduced or even dismissed.
Michael Anzalone understands that good people can find themselves in situations where a lapse of judgment results in an assault charge. There are road rage incidents, barroom brawls or domestic incidents. If you’ve been charged with such an aggravated battery charge, your criminal defense attorney can help walk you through the court process and help you get your life back on track.
Here is a breakdown of the charges and penalties in New Hampshire.
According to state statutes, RSA 631:1, a first-degree assault occurs when someone knowingly causes bodily injury to someone else, or causes injury to a pregnant woman that results in a miscarriage, or causes bodily injury to someone under the age of 13.
This is considered a Class A felony and the punishment calls for up to 15 years in prison and/or a fine up to $4,000. Of course the punishment can be up to 30 years if certain factors are included in the charge.
The charge is considered a second-degree assault if you knowingly or recklessly caused bodily injury to someone with either extreme indifference to the value of human life or by injuring a pregnant woman, causing a miscarriage. It also applies to recklessly injure a child under the age of 13, or knowingly strangling or suffocating someone.
A simple assault charge involves knowingly causing bodily injury and/or “unprivileged physical contact” through reckless or negligent behavior. This crime is punishable by up to a year in prison and a fine of up to $2,000.
A second-degree assault is a Class B felony and is punishable by up to seven years in prison and/or a fine of up to $4,000.
You will want to make a call to criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone as soon as you are charged. Having him on your case early can make a big difference in the outcome of your case.
He will need to know the specifics of your case to help you come up with the best possible defense as the case heads to court. Were you intoxicated? Was this act done in self-defense? Were you defending your property? These are the kinds of questions Michael Anzalone will want answers to.
Your attorney will decide whether it’s in your best interest to take a plea deal or to take your case before a judge and jury.
As you can see, the penalties for assault can be serious. This can affect your life for years to come.
Please call The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, at 603-548-3797, or fill out our online form for a free consultation. We’re here for you 24/7.