If you have been arrested on a battery charge in New Hampshire, you’ll need to contact a criminal defense attorney. This is serious crime and you will need to consult with your lawyer before you talk to the police.
They may sit you down in an interview room, but you should refuse to talk to them about your case before having a lawyer by your side. If you talk without legal representation, you could say something that would harm your case.
Criminal defense lawyer Michael Anzalone is your answer. He understands the state’s criminal code and has experience in representing people who’ve been accused of batteryWhat is Battery?
Battery can occur in many instances, including bar room brawls, road rage incidents, domestic violence and even disagreements among parents at a child’s sporting event. It happens every day, someone in New Hampshire.
If you’ve been arrested, this is the kind of charge that can bring great embarrassment to you and your family. This is the main reason you will want an experienced criminal defense lawyer who has defended countless people accused of battery.
You may be wondering what kind of penalties you could face for a battery charge in New Hampshire. Like with other charges, it depends upon the facts of your individual case.
But here is a simple primer on battery and assault charges in New Hampshire.
If you are charged with first-degree assault, this is considered a Class A felony. It means that prosecutors feel that you intentionally either brought bodily harm to someone or scare them into thinking you were going to harm them. This carries a major sentence of between seven and 15 years in prison and fines of up to $4,000.
A second-degree assault or battery charge is considered a Class B felony. This charge is brought against someone who prosecutors believe purposely caused bodily injury or assault with a deadly weapon and showed an extreme indifference to the value of life.
If you are convicted on a second-degree assault charge you could face between three and a half to seven years in prison.
Or, you may be facing a simple battery charge. This is a misdemeanor and occurs if there is a display of force or a threat. This happens often if there is a fight between friends or relatives, or an incident that involved hitting. Even so, if you are convicted, you could be sentenced to up to a year in prison. The charge also carries a fine of up to $2,000.
As in all other crimes, the circumstances vary between cases. A judge and jury will consider the circumstances in your case.
If you have been accused of battery, you will want to have the best criminal defense lawyer working on your case.
At The Anzalone Law Firm, we’re here to help. Our team of legal assistants will make your case a priority.
Our goal is to make sure that you get the best possible outcome when your case goes to court.
Please call our offices in Nashua, New Hampshire, today for a free consultation with Michael Analone.