Rockingham Superior Court Indicated Woman on Seven Charges for Drunk Driving Crash
BRENTWOOD, N.H. _ A New Hampshire woman is in deep trouble after a head-on crash that injured a woman and her 8-year-old son.
A grand jury in Rockingham Superior Court has indicted Stephanie Barry, 26, on seven charges relating to the drunken driving crash.
The crash happened in January when police say Barry crossed the center line of the road and struck Krista Pagliarulo’s vehicle. Police say Pagliarulo suffered minor injuries but her son, Dylan Metivier, was hospitalized three days with internal injuries.
According to police, Barry’s blood-alcohol content was above 0.16 percent. In New Hampshire, drivers are considered impaired with a blood-alcohol content of 0.08 percent.
If you have been involved in a crash that is caused by drunken driving, please consult with a New Hampshire DWI lawyer.
In Barry’s case, the charges are more serious because the crash involved injuries and because her blood-alcohol content was about twice the limit considered legal to drive in New Hampshire.
It is advisable not to drive after you’ve consumed alcohol or drugs. But if you do, please talk with a New Hampshire attorney who specializes in DWI.
Media reports indicate Barry was arrested at the scene by police. She’s charged with three counts of aggravated DWI and single counts of driving while intoxicated, first-degree assault, simple assault and reckless conduct.
Her case is scheduled to go before a judge, but a date hasn’t been set.
New Hampshire takes DWI or DUI seriously. For drivers, such as Barry, the charges may be enough to land her in jail, especially if this is not the first time she’s been arrested.
The penalties and fines can add up quickly in a drunken driving case.
For example, the state considers a first offense a Class B misdemeanor, which could result in a judge sentencing a driver to prison for up to six months and/or a minimum fine of $500.
But consider the other consequences as well. For a conviction, 6 points can be added to your driving record, which will likely drive up your insurance costs. And your driver’s license will be revoked for a period of time, ranging from nine months to two years, depending on the circumstances.
In addition, the convicted driver of a Class B misdemeanor will have to complete an intervention program that is designed for people who have been accused of drunk, or impaired, driving.
Very likely, the judge will also order additional counseling and/or drug or alcohol testing.
The penalties and fines increase as the charges become more severe.
Consider that with a Class A misdemeanor conviction, a judge could send the driver to jail for 10 days, and the fine is a minimum of $750.
If you are under 21, you are considered too drunk to drive with a blood-alcohol content of 0.02 percent.
If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer who suspects you of drunk driving, you should immediately contact a DWI attorney in New Hampshire. Your lawyer will help you decide how your case should be presented to the judge and will work tirelessly to get the best possible outcome for you.
In cases involving crashes, a police officer will likely ask you to take a Breathalyzer test, in addition to field sobriety _ or balance _ tests. This helps the officer determine whether you are drunk.
At this point, you are in a no-win situation. You have the right to refuse a Breathalyzer test, but keep in mind that if you refuse, there are consequences.
New Hampshire is an implied consent state, which means that you’ve already agreed when you were issued a driver’s license to take such tests.
If you don’t, the state will suspend your driver’s license for 180 days
And if you take the test, like Pagliarulo did, charges will likely be brought against you if you are considered to be over the legal limit.
It’s in your best interest to contact a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire.