Receiving Stolen Property Hillsborough County
If you are facing charges of receiving stolen property in Hillsborough County, you need to make sure you have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your team.
The best person for that job is Nashua's own Michael Anzalone. Michael Anzalone and his associates at The Anzalone Law Firm know the ins and outs of the criminal justice system in Hillsborough County and all of New Hampshire.
We'll treat you like the neighbor you are, with respect and with a work ethic that's second to none. Our goal is to make sure you get the very best possible outcome no matter what
This could get you in a whole lot of trouble in New Hampshire. So, if you are accused of this crime, your best option is to hire a highly qualified criminal defense lawyer to represent you on the charges.
In New Hampshire, receiving stolen property is a crime that authorities are always on the lookout for. You can be charged with receiving stolen property if you knew the items now in your possession were stolen. As you criminal defense attorney will tell you, the items could have been either received, disposed of or retained by you.
This charge even counts if authorities believe you should have known the merchandise was stolen.What Penalites Might I Face?
Authorities will determine the penalties for this crime by the value of the property that was stolen.
If value of the stolen merchandise exceeds $1,500, you would face a Class A felony charge. A conviction can bring a prison sentence of up to 7 ½ years.
If the stolen goods are worth more than $1,000 and less than $1,500, it's a Class B felony and you could be sentenced by a judge to between 3 ½ and 7 years in prison.
However, if you're convicted of receiving stolen goods worth under $1,000, the penalties could be much lighter. It would like bring a charge of Class A misdemeanor charge with a prison sentence of up to a year.
The charges also carry the potential of fines of up to $4,000.
The judge who oversees your case can utilize other factors, including whether you've been in trouble before.
For example, if you've received two previous convictions for anything theft-related, then a third charge can be brought against you as a felony regardless of the circumstances.
The state's statutes lay out the charges and the penalties in RSA 637:7.
As stated, you are presumed to have knowledge of the stolen property if you've been caught with stolen goods two or more times in the past. The laws also state that you are assumed to have known if you you've been accused in the past year, or if you bought merchandise for a significantly lower cost than its worth.
The best thing you can do for yourself is hire a local criminal defense lawyer to represent you in court. Our law firm is in Nashua and we are all familiar with other cities and towns across Hillsborough County.
Pick up the phone and call us today at 603-548-3797 to schedule a free consultation with Michael Anzalone at The Anzalone Law Firm.