New Hampshire Woman Faces Second Offense of Driving Under the Influence After Crashing Car Into Chain-Link Fence in Derry
DERRY, N. H. _ A New Hampshire woman faces a second offense of driving under the influence and other charges after crashing her car into a chain-link fence in Derry.
Officials say Jessica Laroe was driving 55 miles per hour on May 18 when a police officer tried to stop her. The officer says Laroe was making “evasive turns” in a neighborhood when she failed to negotiate a turn and crashed. She suffered minor facial injuries.
According to court records, she’s charged with driving after having her license revoked, habitual offender and disobeying a police officer in addition to DWI charges.
If you’re facing second-time drunken driving charges please contact a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire for a consultation. An attorney can help you get the best possible outcome as you face some fairly significant charges.
New Hampshire takes drunken driving, or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, seriously. Severe laws, restricting driving privileges of those convicted of DWI or DUI are on the books. It’s not wise to try to negotiate your way through the court system when you are facing serious charges. That’s why it’s advisable to hire a lawyer who is well-versed in DWI laws.
As a second, or repeat, offender, Laroe will have a more difficult path than she did following her first DWI arrest.
What should she expect?
Laroe will likely spend time in jail, in addition to the time she spent there after her arrest. That’s what happens after the second or subsequent DWI arrests.
In fact, anyone convicted of a second DWI or DUI charge in New Hampshire will receive a minimum five-day sentence in the County House of Correction.
Then, according to the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services website, the person is required by law to schedule a full substance use disorder evaluation within 30 days. The evaluation must be completed within 60 days of release from the jail. These evaluations are done at a state-approved Impaired Driver Care Management Program facility.
Every person convicted on aggravated, second or subsequent driving while under the influences charges will also have a service plan that can include treatment, education, and/or recovery support services.
The state requires the person to successfully complete every program in order the get driving privileges reinstated.
All convicted first time offenders are required to complete an intake and screening at an IDCMP facility within 14 days of the conviction. If the screening is negative, the individual will be required to complete an Impaired Driver Education Program or a Weekend Impaired Driver Education Program.
For positive screenings, the convicted driver must undergo a full substance use disorder evaluation within 30 days. The IDCMP will prepare a service plan that the convicted driver is required to follow in order to have driving privileges reinstated.
As you can see, being convicted on charges of driving while under the influence of drugs, alcohol or a combination of both, can bring a lot of anxiety.
There will be lost time from your job or school and you’ll be away from your family for chunks of time while you are defending yourself. There will be meetings with your attorney, hearings and possibly a trial.
The DWI arrest will also cost you a great deal of money and cause embarrassment. You’ll have to pay court fees and fines and for all of the programs included in the Impaired Driver Care Management Program. The costs can add up quickly. In addition you’ll have to pay for the services of your attorney.
If you have been arrested for suspicion of driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you should immediately contact a New Hampshire DWI or DUI lawyer. Your attorney can help explain the complexities of the DWI laws relating to second, or subsequent offenders.