First-Time Drunken Drivers Can Benefit From Tentative Deal Reached by New Hampshire House and Senate
CONCORD, N. H. _ First-time drunken drivers would benefit from a tentative deal reached by the New Hampshire House and Senate.
A proposed bill would allow a limited driver’s license for those convicted for the first time of driving while under the influence. These drivers would be allowed to go to work school, medical treatment or any other location a judge approves.
Both houses of the Legislature agreed on wording of the proposal, and made a compromise over the amount of time that a driver’s license must be suspended before a limited license can be issued. The House wanted a minimum 14-day suspension. The Senate wanted a 60-day suspension. So they compromised at a 45-day suspension.
According to news reports, those applying for the special driver’s license would also have to agree to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicles.
The proposal would not take effect until 2016.
The bill would be a big win for people who got caught up in a moment _ drinking with friends at happy hour, for example _ and made the mistaking of driving while under the influence of alcohol.
If you have questions about driving and driving laws, you should consult with a New Hampshire DWI attorney.
A first-time DWI or DUI offense can be costly in terms of time and money. It can also be embarrassing, especially if your boss or family members find out about your arrest. And, depending on the circumstances of your arrest, it could be covered by local media.
What happens the first time you are pulled over on suspension of drinking while driving?
Police officers are trained to look out for drunk drivers, and they often stake out areas where bars and nightclubs are.
They look for certain signs that someone is driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
What are the signs?
There are many, including driving too fast or too slow on the highway, driving over curbs, weaving in and out of traffic or starting or stopping with a jerk.
If an officer believes you may be under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you may be asked to take a Breathalyzer or to perform field sobriety tests. These are roadside exercises that can be used as indicators that you’re under the influence.
You have the right to refuse to take the Breathalyzer test, but you’ll need to know that your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days if this is the first time you’ve refused such a test. That’s because New Hampshire is an implied consent state, meaning that when you were issued a driver’s license by the state of New Hampshire, you agreed to participate in such tests if you’re stopped by police.
Again, a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire can brief you on what this means.
If the officer reasonably believes that you are intoxicated while driving, you will be placed under arrest and taken to a police station for booking. Then, very likely, you’ll be hauled off to jail.
At this point, your case enters the legal realm and you’ll need to take the advice of your New Hampshire DWI lawyer so that you’ll get the best possible outcome for your case.
Once your case hits this point, it becomes a whirlwind of hearings, meetings with your attorney and a possible trial, depending on how you plead.
All of this means you will be spending time away from your job, school and family. A DWI can be quite costly. You will be responsible for your attorney’s fees, of course. But in addition, you may have to pay court fees and fines. And if the judge orders you into a treatment program, you’ll have to pay for that.
If an evaluation finds that you need extensive therapy, you will pay more and you’ll probably have to take at least some time away from your work. You’ll be under an order of the court to complete these programs. If you don’t, you won’t get your license back until successful completion of the program.
It’s best not to drink and drive. But if you do, contact a DWI attorney in New Hampshire.