New Hampshire Legislature Agreed on Plan That Creates a Restricted Driver's License for First-Time DWI Offenders
CONCORD, N. H. _ The New Hampshire Legislature has agreed on a plan that creates a restricted driver’s license for first-time DWI offenders.
But don’t get your hopes up if you are a first time offender.
The new law won’t go into effect until 2016.
If you’ve been arrested on suspicion of drunken driving, your best bet is to contact a DWI attorney in New Hampshire.
Once the restricted driver’s license bill becomes law, it will help those like you.
While they’ll still lose their regular driving privilege, they’ll still be able to drive on a restricted license to work and to seek medical treatment or any other location a judge approves.
The convicted motorist will have a 45-day suspension of driving privileges before obtaining the restricted driver’s license.
In order to get the restricted driver’s license, the motorist will have to agree to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicles. This device will be installed at the driver’s expense and will require the motorist to test his or her blood alcohol content before the vehicle will start.
If you have questions about driving and driving laws, you should consult with a New Hampshire DWI lawyer.
The restricted license came with some controversy, but lawmakers agreed that sometimes a driver is caught up in a moment and isn’t a threat to become a habitual offender.
Remember, a DWI or DUI offense can cost a small fortune and plenty of time. It can also be embarrassing, especially if your boss or family members find out about your arrest. And, depending on the circumstances of your arrest, it could be covered by local media.
What happens the first time you are pulled over on suspension of drinking while driving?
In New Hampshire, police are constantly on the lookout for drunken drivers. They look for certain signs that someone is driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. These include driving too fast or too slow on the highway, driving over curbs, weaving in and out of traffic or starting or stopping with a jerk.
If an officer believes you may be under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you may be asked to take a Breathalyzer or to perform field sobriety tests. These are roadside exercises that can be used as indicators that you’re under the influence.
You have the right to refuse to take the Breathalyzer test, but you’ll need to know that your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days if this is the first time you’ve refused such a test. That’s because New Hampshire is an implied consent state, meaning that when you were issued a driver’s license by the state of New Hampshire, you agreed to participate in such tests if you’re stopped by police.
If you appear to be intoxicated, you’ll be arrested and taken to a police station for booking. Then, very likely, you’ll be thrown in jail for at least a few hours or a night.
After your arrest, expect to attend hearings, meetings with your attorney and a possible trial, depending on how you plead.
All of this means you will be spending time away from your job, school and family. You will be responsible for your attorney’s fees, of course. But in addition, you may have to pay court fees and fines. And if the judge orders you into a treatment program, you’ll have to pay for that.
If an evaluation finds that you need extensive therapy, you will pay more and you’ll probably have to take at least some time away from your work. You’ll be under an order of the court to complete these programs. If you don’t, you won’t get your license back until successful completion of the program.
It is always best to never drink and drive. But if you do, contact a DWI attorney in New Hampshire.