Massachusetts Man Totaled Vehicle, Accused of Felony Reckless Conduct, Aggravated DWI and Disobeying an Officer
NASHUA, N.H. _ Alcohol and driving are not a good mix.
That’s what a Massachusetts man found out recently when he was accused of driving drunk in New Hampshire.
According to The Boston Globe, Colin P. Bell, 24, was reportedly driving erratically with a flat tire along the Everett Turnpike. When state police attempted to stop him, he apparently took off in his white Subaru.
A high-speed chase ensued, reaching an estimated 110 mph. But Bell eventually crashed into a guardrail near the Nashua-Merrimack town line.
State troopers administered a Breathalyzer test and found Bell had a blood-alcohol content of 0.18 percent, which is more than twice the limit New Hampshire considers safe to drive.
Bell, who totaled his vehicle in the crash, is accused of felony reckless conduct, aggravated DWI and disobeying an officer.
If you, like Bell, are an out-of-state resident facing charges of driving while intoxicated, you should contact a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire. A local attorney is well-versed in New Hampshire laws regarding driving under the influence, whether you’re accused of having drugs or alcohol in your system.
Call today for a consultation with an attorney.
Bell’s case is a little more complicated than a typical DWI case. He’s also accused of leading troopers on a chase and crashing into a guardrail, causing a great deal of damage.
He faces aggravated DWI charges.
An attorney who specializes in DWI in New Hampshire can help in a situation involving aggravated DWI charges.
In Bell’s case, a caller to 911 alerted police to the erratic driving. Officers responded and had to pursue Bell until he crashed.
Once at the scene, Bell was ordered to take a Breathalyzer. He complied, but you a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire would tell you that you don’t have to take the officer-ordered test.
Instead, you have the right to say no. Just remember, however, that there are consequences to refusing to take a Breathalyzer test, or urine or blood tests which are sometimes used to determine a person’s blood alcohol content. In New Hampshire, refusal to follow this order results in the suspension of your driver’s license for 180 days.
Officers at the scene may also ask you to take a series of field sobriety tests, which are also known as balance tests. This helps them determine whether you are indeed under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Depending on the law enforcement department, these tests may be recorded at the scene for use if the case goes to trial. If car video equipment is not in place, you may be taken to a central location and recorded there.
A police officer has wide-ranging discretion in determining whether to pull you over.
In the case of Bell, it was a no-brainer. State troopers received a phone call from a concerned driver who noticed the SUV driving erratically.
But, an officer may also decide to pull you over if your vehicle is swerving in and out of traffic, hovering over the white line on the road, running up on the curb or traveling too fast or too slow.
There are a variety of reasons an officer may stop you.
Once you’ve been pulled over on suspicion of DWI, your life will change.
A DWI charge can cost you plenty _ in terms of money and time. First, you may spend some time in jail, which can affect your employment status. If so, you’ll have to put up some kind of bail money.
And, once the case goes before a judge, the fees and fines will start adding up. The judge may also order you into an alcohol or drug rehabilitation program. Much of the cost of that program will fall onto you as well.
If you have questions, please consult a DWI attorney in New Hampshire.