Massachusetts Drunk Driver Lead Authorities on Chase Crossing State Lines
NEWBURY, Mass. _ A driver is facing drunken driving charges in Massachusetts after leading authorities on a chase that crossed state lines.
According to media reports, the chase began on July 8 when state police attempt to pull him over as he traveled south on Interstate 95. New Hampshire police called off the chase because it was too dangerous. But 33-year-old Nicholas Cammann, of Aquinnah, Massachusetts, was stopped in a construction zone in Newbury and arrested.
He faces drunken driving charges, along with charges of failing to stop for a law enforcement officer and resisting arrest.
If you are involved in a drunken driving case that started in New Hampshire you may want to consult with a DWI attorney with knowledge of New Hampshire laws.
Cammann will likely go to court in Massachusetts, where he was arrested.
But, in general, it’s not wise to lead police on a chase, especially if you’ve been drinking or taking drugs. Additional charges, including resisting arrest, can quickly add up and make your case more difficult to win.
In New Hampshire, drivers who have never been convicted on DWI charges may have an easier time getting a lighter sentence.
But rest assured, a drunken driving conviction will cost you plenty of time and money. If this is your first time being charged with driving under the influence you may find the system quite shocking. But New Hampshire has strict laws in place to prevent people from driving while intoxicated.
A first-time DWI charge is a Class B misdemeanor. It carries a minimum $500 fine. Under state law, conviction under this charge means a motorist loses driving privileges for nine months to two years, depending on the circumstances. In addition, a judge will order first-time offenders into the state's Impaired Driver Care Management Program.
The program includes an initial intake and screening, which is required within days of conviction. If the driver is found to have a substance use problem, a further evaluation is required. Once the evaluation is completed, the driver will be ordered into some kind of personal or group therapy in addition to educational programs aimed at teaching about the dangers of drinking and driving and how to work on addiction issues.
Drivers are required to complete this program successfully before qualifying to have the full driving privileges reinstated. All of these programs must also be paid for by the defendant.
Here is just an example of how quickly the costs add up. An intake and initial screening for a first-time offender costs $75. The client fee for the Impaired Driver Care Management Program is $70. Then, the substance use evaluation is $200. It costs $300 for the Impaired Driver Education Program. Or, if you choose, the Weekend Impaired Driver Education Program costs $485, which includes room and board. Add in the monitoring fee of $30 per contract and the IDCMP court appearance fee of $100 and you can see how much a DWI can cost.
And that’s just for the IDCMP. Add in the costs of an attorney and the fees and fines that a judge imposes and you’ll begin to realize the financial burden of a DWI arrest.
Once your driver’s license is restored, a judge can order you to install an interlock device on your vehicle which will alert authorities if you attempt to drive while intoxicated. Again, this is at your expense.
The case of highlighted in this story is not a typical DWI case because it crosses state lines. But in general, it is best to never mix drinking or taking drugs with driving. It’s a potentially deadly combination.
But if you do, be prepared to contact a New Hampshire DWI lawyer for assistance