Hudson Man Accused of Punching Jailor After Being Arrested on DWI Charges
NASHUA, N. H. _ Drinking and driving didn’t end well for a Hudson, New Hampshire, man who is accused of punching a jailor and attempting to bite him after being arrested on DWI charges.
Court records show that Nathaniel Rines, 24, was stopped by Nashua police who were called to a convenience store following a report of a man trying to drive while intoxicated.
According to an arrest report, Rines was arrested and taken to jail. While he was waiting in his cell, he tampered with the sprinkler, causing it to flood the area.
When the civilian jailor tried to take Rines out of the cell, the suspect apparently punched him twice, ripped his clothes and tried to bite the jailor and a police officer who was also trying to help.
Now Rines faces multiple charges and has more to worry about than a DWI charge.
He’s currently charged with two counts of assault by prisoner, two counts of attempted simple assault, one count of unlawful interference with fire apparatus and one count of criminal mischief. He was given a $10,000 bond.
If you’re facing charges of driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you’ll want to consult with a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire. You need help from someone who understands the complexities of the state’s drunken driving laws to help you get the best possible outcome once your case goes before a judge.
The state of New Hampshire takes drunk driving very seriously. The system can be quite confusing for someone who isn’t used to being in court. So, it’s best to take the advice of a lawyer.
In the case of Rines, it can be even more complicated, thanks to his additional charges.
But, assuming the DWI charge is his first, there is some good news.
A first time offender will face a minimum $500 fine from the judge. But if the judge finds you guilty of DWI, you’ll enter a whole new world.
New Hampshire has strict drunk driving laws. Remember, it’s always best not to drink or take drugs and drive.
The state considers drivers too intoxicated to operate a motor vehicle if they have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 percent or higher. If you’re stopped by police, they’ll more than likely ask you to take a Breathalyzer test to measure your blood alcohol levels.
This test will be presented in court if your case goes to trial. You have the right to refuse to take the test, which is required under the state’s implied consent law. When you were issued a driver’s license, you agreed to certain things, such as take a breath test if you’re stopped by police. If you refuse to do so, you’ll lose your driving privileges for 180 days. The time can be longer if you’ve had more than one refusal.
If this is your first arrest, you will have to learn the process. This is where a DWI attorney in New Hampshire can help. The lawyer will offer advice on how you should proceed with your case.
The next shock to your system will probably be how much time and money a DWI arrest will cost.
You’ll be responsible for your attorney fees plus court fees and fines.
If the judge orders you to take part in a drug or alcohol treatment program, you’ll also be on the hook for those costs.
Then there is the time you’ll have to spend away from your job and family while attending court hearings and proceedings.
You’ll learn that some of the treatment programs may require long commitments, which will also eat into your personal time. But without successful completion of the program you won’t have your driver’s license reinstated. So, it is essential that you participate.
It’s always best to stay away from drinking and driving. But if you do get caught, make sure your first call is to a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire.