Drunk New Hampshire Man Drove Through Local Burger King
MERRIMACK, N. H. _ A New Hampshire man got more than he bargained for when he drove through a local Burger King.
According to police reports, 20-year-old Jackson King was arrested on suspicion of driving while under the influence after police officers were called to the fast food restaurant.
King found himself in some serious trouble. He’s also charged with being a minor in possession of alcohol. The charges can add up quickly, especially for those drivers who are under 21 years of age.
If you are facing similar charges, please consult with a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire. It’s imperative to speak with an attorney who is well-versed in DWI laws before your case heads to court.
The state of New Hampshire has very strict laws regarding underage drinking and driving. The best advice is to never drink and drive, but if you choose to, you need to be aware of the laws.
First, the threshold for being legally drunk in New Hampshire is lower for people under age 21. A blood alcohol percentage of 0.02 is enough for state officials to consider you too impaired to legally drive. That can be reached with just one drink in many cases. So, beware if you drink and drive. For adults to be considered too drunk to drive, they must have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent.
A conviction on DWI charges can have long-lasting effects on a teenager’s driving and criminal record. It could result in higher automobile insurance costs, and may cost the teen future job opportunities.
If you have been pulled over by police on suspicion of driving while under the influence, please consult with a New Hampshire DWI lawyer who has experience in representing people under age 21.
What can teenager expect after an arrest on DWI charges?
Since it is illegal in New Hampshire for anyone under age 21 to consume alcohol, you’re already breaking the law if you’ve been drinking.
Underage drivers who are convicted of DWI will lose their driving privileges for a mandatory period of one year. Convicted teens may be required to have ignition interlock devices placed on their vehicles after getting their driver’s licenses back. These devices are used to measure the driver’s blood alcohol content before the vehicle will start. The device will record any violation, which can be reported to the court and the teen can get into additional trouble.
State law requires the device to be on the car of a convicted teen driver for at least one year of until the age of 21, whichever comes first.
Conviction on DWI charges may result in a combination of fines, fees, license suspension, jail sentence and attendance in a treatment program.
After your conviction you will be required to participate in the Impaired Driver Care Management Program. Here, you’ll have an intake appointment and assessment that will determine whether you need a full substance use evaluation. Depending on the outcome of this evaluation, you’ll be required to successfully complete all components of the program.
If the screening is negative, the offender will be sent to an Impaired Driver Education Program or a Weekend Impaired Driver Education Program. The difference is that the weekend program is consolidated into one weekend and those attending are required to spend two nights and three days attending classes.
If you are found to have substance use issues, you’ll have to go through another part of the IDCMP.
The program may require you to participate in counseling. And there are educational programs designed to teach people about the dangers of drinking or taking drugs while driving.
Your driving privileges won’t be reinstated until you’ve successfully completed this program.
For teenager and their parents, the costs of a DWI conviction can be draining. There are fines, court fees, attorney fees and all of the costs of the Impaired Driver Care Management Program. And there is the extreme likelihood that the teenager’s car insurance rates will also go
Call a DWI attorney in New Hampshire for a consultation as soon as possible.