Belmont Man Arrested After Officer Stopped Vehicle for Failing to Signal a Turn
BELMONT, N. H. _ Drinking driving is a serious offense in New Hampshire. But driving while impaired with a child _ or any other passenger _ in your vehicle is potentially deadly.
And you’ll find yourself with additional, aggravated charges if you do so.
If you are arrested on charges of driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs, it’s best to consult with a DWI attorney in New Hampshire. Your attorney can offer much-needed and necessary advice as your case heads before a judge.
There are many complexities in the DWI and DUI laws in New Hampshire and this isn’t something that you’ll want to go alone.
Earlier in May a Belmont man was arrested after an officer stopped his vehicle for failing to signal a turn. The officer noticed that Mark F. Royea, 29, appeared to be intoxicated. And there was an 8-year-old child in the car.
According to police reports, Royea failed field sobriety tests conducted by police officers on the scene.
Royea was charged with aggravated DWI and child endangerment. He’s got a court date in June regarding the charges.
You might wonder how an officer knows that someone is driving while drunk.
There are many things an officer looks for. For example, a police officer might spot a car that is going too fast or too slow. Or the vehicle might be weaving in and out of traffic, endangering the lives of others on the road. In some cases, the driver might have pulled off the road to sleep. Or, as in the case of Royea, the driving might not make proper signals while driving.
These are things that might tip off the officers, many of whom have been well-trained in spotting possible impaired drivers.
Once you are stopped, the clock starts on your potential DWI conviction. It can be a life-changing experience.
Before you drink and drive, take a few minutes to consider the consequences.
If you are arrested and convicted on DWI charges, you’ll be looking at a minimum of having your driver’s license revoked or suspended for nie months. You may lose your license, depending on the circumstances of your case, for two years.
After you are stopped, the police officer will likely ask you to take a Breathalyzer test. If you do this, your blood alcohol content will be used against you in court. But, you have the right to say no. There are consequences, however. If you refuse to take a breath test, you will lose your driving privileges for 180 days. And, keep in mind that if it is your second breath test refusal, you’ll lose your driver’s license for 2 years.
That’s before your case even makes it to court.
A DWI attorney in New Hampshire can explain the reasons behind this. New Hampshire is an implied consent state, meaning that when you were issued a driver’s license you agreed to take breath or blood or urine tests if you’re stopped for driving while impaired.
What happens next?
You’ll be arrested, taken to the police station or sheriff’s office to be processed and you’ll likely spend a night in jail. That’s when you’ll want to make sure to contact your lawyer who is specialized in New Hampshire DWI laws.
You’ll make an initial appearance in court and then be given a date for a future hearing.
One thing you will learn quickly is that a DWI arrest will cost you time and money. There are hearings, meetings with your attorney and a judge may order you into drug or alcohol treatment.
This will also cost you money.
The most basic of DWI charges _ a Class B misdemeanor _ will cost you a minimum fine of $500. It can be more depending on the circumstances of your case.
Your New Hampshire DWI attorney can advise you on what to expect after you’ve been arrested for impaired driving in New Hampshire.