A 21-Year-Old Man Heading Wrong Direction on One-Way Street
CONCORD, N. H. _ A 21-year-old man found himself in legal trouble after pulling out of a Concord parking garage and heading the wrong direction on a one-way street.
To make matters worse, a police officer saw him and pulled him over.
Records show Cody White, 21, of Hopkinton, was charged May 24 with two counts of driving while intoxicated. The police officer noted that the car came out of the garage faster than most cars and it didn’t slow down or stop at the stop sign. Once the officer pulled over the vehicle, he noted that White smelled like alcohol. He performed sobriety tests and determined that White was legally intoxicated.
If you’ve been accused of driving while intoxicated, you should consult with a DWI attorney in New Hampshire.
White may have found himself in even more trouble if he had been stopped before his 21st birthday. Those under age 21 who are accused of driving while intoxicated are considered legally drunk if their blood alcohol levels are 0.02 percent or higher. That’s roughly the equivalent of one drink
Anyone over 21 is considered by New Hampshire to be too impaired to drive with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or higher.
The state of New Hampshire considers driving while under the influence a serious matter. So, if you are going to drink, please don’t drive.
If you choose to drink and drive, here are some things to consider:
State law mandates that it’s illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or any controlled drug. This includes prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs, or any other chemical substance _ whether natural or synthetic _ that impairs a person’s ability to drive. It also forbids a combination of drugs and alcohol that impair the driver’s abilities.
Sometimes people don’t think a simple cold medicine can affect the ability to drive. But the medication can make you drowsy or feel jumpy or simply not like yourself, especially if you’ve never taken it before. Never drive before you know how medicine affects you.
Under state law, a person involved in a serious crash must have a blood or urine test, or a Breathalyzer, if there is probable cause to believe the driver was under the influence of drugs. Police have the right to arrest you before take the test if there is probable cause.
But the state’s implied consent law also gives a driver the right to refuse the testing. But there are consequences. A driver’s refusal is admissible in court and means driving privileges will be lost for 180 days if this is the first refusal and the driver has no previous DUIs or DWIs. The suspension is for two years for anyone who refuses testing for a second time, or if the person refuses the test and has a previous DUI conviction.
The laws are complicated and it is wise to consult with a New Hampshire DWI attorney if you are accused of driving while under the influence of drugs
If you are a first-time offender, the court process can seem scary especially with the possibility of jail time looming in front of you. Your attorney will walk you through the proceedings, letting you know what to expect as your case goes before a judge.
As part of the process you’ll have to complete the Impaired Driver Care Management Program, which includes a drug treatment plan. You will have to pay for the program and will be under court-order to complete it.
As outlined previously, a DUI arrest will cost you time, money and embarrassment.
You will have to pay your attorney to represent you, and you’ll be responsible for paying any court fines and fees. If you are sent to the IDCMP, you’ll also have to pay for those services. It can be rather costly. And this leads to stress for yourself and your family.
Please consult with a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire