45-Year-Old Woman Arrested When on Charges of Suspected Drunken Driving
SALEM, N. H. _ When police received calls about a motorist driving erratically along Interstate 93 in June, they reacted quickly. A short chase ensued and the 45-year-old woman was arrested on charges of suspected drunken driving.
The woman’s actions led to aggravated DWI charges, in addition to charges of disobeying a police officer and resisting arrest.
If you, like this woman, are facing aggravated drunken driving charges, you should immediately call a DWI attorney in New Hampshire for a consultation.
Many times, a drunken driving arrest is simple. Police spot someone who appears to be driving while impaired by either drugs or alcohol. They pull over the car and the driver either agrees, or not, to take the Breathalyzer test. While a serious offense, it is a rather routine arrest.
The case of Margaret Flynn of Marlborough, Massachusetts, was a little more involved because she fled police and led them on a chase before eventually stopping. Even then she resisted arrest.
If you are from out of state but get pulled over in New Hampshire, it is advisable to contact a New Hampshire DWI lawyer who has specialized knowledge of the laws regarding driving while impaired.
How do police officers know who to pull over?
In this case, numerous calls came in to 911 regarding a vehicle that was driving erratically. But in many circumstances, officers watch for drivers who are going too fast or too slow, or who change lanes and drive up on curbs. Sometimes they sit outside busy bars to watch for impaired drivers. Other times they set up DWI roadblocks.
If you choose to drink and drive, here’s the bottom line.
State law mandates that it’s illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or any controlled drug. This includes prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs, or any other chemical substance _ whether natural or synthetic _ that impairs a person’s ability to drive. It also forbids a combination of drugs and alcohol that impair the driver’s abilities.
Under state law, a person involved in a serious crash must have a blood or urine test, or a Breathalyzer, if there is probable cause to believe the driver was under the influence of drugs. Police have the right to arrest you before take the test if there is probable cause.
But the state’s implied consent law also gives a driver the right to refuse the testing. There are, however, consequences for this refusal.
The refusal itself is admissible in court and means driving privileges will be lost for 180 days if this is the first refusal and the driver has no previous DUIs or DWIs. The penalties are worse for someone who refuses testing for a second time, or if the person refuses the test and has a previous DUI conviction.
For first-time offenders, the court process may be scary, especially with the possibility of jail time on the horizon. Your attorney will walk you through the proceedings, letting you know what to expect as your case goes before a judge.
Those convicted of drunken driving enter the Impaired Driver Care Management Program, which includes a drug treatment plan. You will have to pay for the program and will be under court-order to complete it.
Remember, a DUI arrest will cost you time, money and embarrassment.
You will have to pay your attorney to represent you, and you’ll be responsible for paying any court fines and fees. If you are sent to the IDCMP, you’ll also have to pay for those services. It can be rather costly. And this leads to stress for yourself and your family.
It is wise to consult with a New Hampshire DWI attorney if you are accused of driving while under the influence of drugs.