29-Year-Old Woman Crashed Into a Stopped Vehicle in Hudson
HUDSON, N.H. _ A 29-year-old woman is facing some serious charges after police say she crashed into a stopped vehicle early Sunday in Hudson.
Officials say Shelly Maynard’s blood-alcohol content was 0.16 percent and she was driving with an open container of alcohol in her vehicle when the crash occurred. No one was injured in the crash.
The Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, woman is charged with aggravated DWI. She was initially held on $140 bail.
If you are an out-of-state driver who gets stopped for drunken driving, please contact a New Hampshire DWI attorney. This is vital because you’ll want a lawyer who knows the ins-and-outs of New Hampshire laws as your case heads to court. You’ll be facing charges in New Hampshire even though you don’t live here.
So it’s best to be represented by an attorney who is well-versed in New Hampshire’s complicated DWI laws.
It is best to call a DWI attorney in New Hampshire if this happens to you. You’ll want to get your attorney’s advice on how to plead to charges when you go before a judge. An attorney can get you the best possible outcome as your case winds through the court system.
If you are driving in New Hampshire, you should be aware that officials take drinking or taking drugs while driving seriously. And if you are involved in a crash while intoxicated, the charges will be ramped up. So, remember it is best not to drive if you’ve been drinking alcohol or taking drugs _ whether they are illegal, prescription or over-the-counter drugs.
If a police officer suspects you of impaired driving, you’ll be asked to take a Breathalyzer test. If they believe you are driving while under the influence of drugs, they may require a blood or urine test.
If you refuse a Breathalyzer, your driving privileges will be revoked for a period of time. And, if you take the breath test and are found to have a blood-alcohol level above 0.08 percent, you’ll be considered too intoxicated to drive. And this can also be used against you in court.
You will certainly want to seek the advice of a DWI or DUI lawyer in New Hampshire. If you are found guilty of driving under the influence in New Hampshire, a judge may send you to prison. But more likely, you’ll be ordered into a treatment program. In New Hampshire, this is called the Impaired Driver Care Management program.
You will need to speak to your attorney to find out how this affects out-of-state residents and whether you’ll be able to seek the treatment and educational programs in your home state.
The program essentially allows someone who’s been convicted of DWI or DUI to undergo an evaluation that can determine whether you have a substance abuse disorder and will have to complete the requirements of the court-ordered program before your driver’s license is reinstated. In New Hampshire, this can consist of participation in treatment, education and/or recovery support services, according to the state’s Health and Human Services department.
The state agency’s website says that when someone is convicted of an aggravated, second or subsequent offense within 10 years, a judge will sentence them to a minimum of a five-day sentence in the County House of Correction.
State laws allow a certain portion of the sentence _ depending on the severity of the offense _ to be suspended to encourage participation in the IDCMP.
Within 30 days, the convicted person is required by state law to schedule a full substance use disorder evaluation. It must then be completed within 60 days of release from the county jail.
Those convicted of aggravated offenses, or second and subsequent offenses, must have a service plan. This plan may include a combination of treatment, education and/or recovery support services.
Anyone who does not comply with the program will have their driver’s license revoked and driving privileges until successful completion of the IDCMP.
It is best not to drink and drive. But if you get pulled over, please take the time to consult with a New Hampshire DWI attorney.